The Chieftones

The New Smooth and Different Sound: Vinyl LP


Release date: 13 October, 2023

Billed as “Canada’s All Indian Band,” the Tsimshian Nation garage band The Chieftones stormed the U.S. in the mid-’60s with their own brand of native rock n’ roll. More Buddy Holly than Link Wray, The New Smooth and Different Sound compiles their debut single for Wisconsin’s lauded Cuca label and adds a dozen previously unissued demos from their brief time in the Driftless region.


1. Don’t Let It Bother You
2. Don’t Dare
3. Indian Wedding
4. You’re My Angel
5. I Need Your Lovin’
6. I Won’t Be Around
7. Do Lord
8. I Shouldn’t Have Did What I Done
9. The Sun Is Shining
10. Ebony Eyes
11. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
12. Cutie From The Beauty Shop
13. You Don’t Need Me Anymore
14. Don’t You Leave Me Behind

Vinyl LP
Numero Group