James Brown

Soul On Top (Verve By Request): Vinyl LP


Release date: 13 January, 2023

In the liner notes to this grooving 1969 album, featuring a big band led by drummer Louis Bellson and arranged by Impulse! star Oliver Nelson, the Godfather of Soul explains that he is a “jazz man at heart.” Brown’s soul consigliere, saxophonist Maceo Parker, helps make this a swinging, spirited and satisfying set of standards and JB hits. Verve By Request Series features 180-gram vinyl, pressed at Third Man in Detroit.

Side A

1. That's My Desire     
2. Your Cheatin Heart     
3. What Kind Of Fool Am I     
4. It's A Man's, Man's, Man's World     
5. The Man In The Glass     

Side B
1. It’s Magic     
2. September Song     
3. For Once In My Life     
4. Every Day I Have The Blues     
5. I Need Your Key     
6. Papa's Got A Brand New Bag

Vinyl LP