Skelethon (10 Year Anniversary): Creme & Black Marble Vinyl 2LP


Release date: 1 September, 2023

Initially released in 2012, Aesop Rock's sixth studio album Skelethon marked a significant moment in the rapper’s career. It had been 5 years since his previous effort None Shall Pass was released, and his former label had since been shuttered. As a result, Skelethon became his first solo release on Rhymesayers Entertainment. Coincidentally, it was also his first album that was entirely self produced. The album's title, a portmanteau of "skeleton" and" telethon,” was a metaphor for what felt like a long period of many adversities for Aesop. Throughout the album’s 15 tracks, he meticulously exhumes and examines these many skeletons in detail, exploring everything from death to distrust, insecurity and isolation, with moments of humor and hope scattered throughout as well. Some of the many standout tracks from the release include "Zero Dark Thirty," a rapid-fire exploration of displeasure over dizzying drums, “ZZZ Top,” an impressive ode to youthful expression, and "Cycles to Gehenna," with its haunting production and imaginative musings. Upon release, Skelethon was praised for its intricate storytelling that expertly balanced abstract imagery with concrete details, and its immersive production incorporating sample-based beats with dusty pianos, distorted guitars, and psychedelic synths. To this day, the album remains a fan favorite and a critical darling, praised for its poignant introspection and razor-sharp wordplay. In celebration of its 10th anniversary, we’ve created this limited edition 3xLP vinyl package that includes a gatefold jacket with revised art layouts, printed sleeves, a4-panel insert with full album lyrics, two cream & blackmarble-colored vinyl, and a UV printed ultra-clear bonus disc vinyl with four exclusive bonus tracks! Whether you’re a vinyl enthusiast or simply appreciate great lyricism, this album is a must for any collection.

12” matte wide-spine gatefold jacket with creme & black marble double vinyl + bonus third ultra-clear bonus vinyl with direct to disc UV printing, printed record sleeves & 4-panel insert with full album lyrics.

1. Leisureforce
2. ZZZ Top
3 Cycles To Gehenna
4. Zero Dark Thirty
5. Fryerstarter
6. Ruby ‘81
7. Crows 1
8. Crows 2
9. Racing Stripes
10. 1,000 O’Clock
11. Homemade Mummy
12. Grace
13. Saturn Missiles
14. Tetra
15. Gopher Guts

Bonus Disc:
16. Dokken Rules feat. Rob Sonic
17. BMX feat. Blueprint & Rob Sonic
18. Zero Dark Thirty (Blockhead Remix)
19. Cycles To Gehenna (Zavala Remix)

Vinyl LP