Van Morrison

Live at Orangefield: Vinyl LP


Release date: 2 August, 2024

The Christmas of 1959 saw Van Morrison take to the stage of Orangefield Secondary School for his first ever live performance.

Midnight Special, a skiffle group, consisted of fellow pupils, John McCullough, tea-chest bass, Cyril Downey, guitar, Billy Ruth, guitar, and Walter Blakely on washboard with Van on guitar and vocals. In August 2014, Van Morrison returned to perform three shows as a fond farewell to his alma mater as it prepared to close its doors for the final time. Live at Orangefield is a specially curated album, of recordings from these very shows.

When it first opened in 1957 Orangefield was a boys' school, then the girls' school was added before both schools merged and remained so until Orangefield was finally closed due to falling numbers of pupils in 2014. Three years later it was demolished. For roughly sixty years both schools had provided an educational and social focus to many thousands of young students from east Belfast and further afield.

"When I was a young boy back in Orangefield, I used to look out my classroom window and dream." - Van Morrison

This very special live album on double heavyweight black vinyl & CD is a celebration of his formative years, giving us a vivid access to the past. But much more than that. The energy and drive, the poetic reinvention Morrison brings to his recollections stand out against the ravages of time. His is a voice of exhilaration and dance as well as poignancy and romance.


1. Celtic Excavation
2. Into The Mystic - Live
3. Cleaning Windows - Live
4. Orangefield - Live
5. Moondance - Live
6. Precious Time - Live
7. That's Life - Live
8. Too Many Myths - Live
9. Got To Go Back - Live
10. Real Real Gone
11. You Send Me - Live
12. Rough God Goes Riding - Live
13. Enlightenment - Live
14. Sometimes We Cry - Live
15. Northern Muse (Solid Ground) - Live
16. On Hyndford Street - Live
17. Ballerina - Live / In The Garden - Live 

Vinyl LP