Lonnie Liston-Smith and The Cosmic Echoes

Cosmic Funk: Limited Coke Clear Vinyl LP


Release date: 3 May, 2024

Lonnie Liston Smith and the Cosmic Echoes’ groundbreaking albums for Bob Thiele’s Flying Dutchman label don’t get the attention from jazz fans that they should. In fact, among the many distinguished alumni of Miles Davis’ fusion bands, keyboardist Smith and his cohorts arguably ran with Davis’ stylistic breakthrough the farthest. In five albums stretching over four years, Smith and the Cosmic Echoes stretched the fusion aesthetic to embrace post-bop modal and spiritual jazz, funk, rock, pop, and even the smooth jazz, quiet storm, and crossover genres. And if those latter styles raise your traditionalist hackles, Smith imbued all of his records with integrity, vision, and his unique spacy sensibiity; instead of playing it safe or commercial, he fearlessly paved a path for modern jazz musicians to follow (Kamasi Washington, for one, no doubt listened to these records at length). Real Gone Music is proud to present Lonnie Liston Smith’s first two records as a bandleader inside their respective original gatefold jacket artwork… soulful, spiritual, life-enhancing music!

Nestled somewhere between the soul jazz, spiritual jazz, fusion, and post-bop subgenres, 1974’s Cosmic Funk headed, as the title indicates, in a funkier direction, with Lonnie Liston Smith’s brother Donald contributing smooth vocal stylings to John Coltrane’s “Naima” among other tunes. A transitional work but a fascinating one, with surehanded production once again from Bob Thiele. Features the original gatefold album art… another “post-fusion” masterwork from the Lonnie Liston Smith and the Cosmic Echoes, now pressed on coke clear vinyl limited to 600 copies!

Side A
1. Cosmic Funk
2. Footprints
3. Beautiful Woman

Side B
1. Sais (Egypt)
2. Peaceful Ones
3. Naima

Vinyl LP
Real Gone Music
  • Pre-Order