Bettye Swann

Bettye Swann: Vinyl 2LP


Release date: 29 March, 2024

Soul artist Bettye Swann was born in Shreveport, USA on October 24, 1944, and spent her first nineteen years in Louisiana. She moved to California and signed a deal with Money Records, recording her breakthrough hit “Make Me Yours” in 1967, which is still her biggest selling record. After the contract expired, she signed to Capitol Records and teamed up with producer Wayne Shuler and recorded a R&B version of Hank Cochran’s country song “Don’t Touch Me”.

On this comprehensive self-titled double album, compiled by Mark Ainley, classic songs such as “Tell Me Like It Is”, “Stand By Your Man”, “(My Heart Is) Closed For The Season”, “Willie & Laura Mae Jones” plus eighteen heartfelt soul songs showcase Bettye’s unique voice.

Bettye Swann is available as a 2LP and includes an insert with liner notes written by music journalist Tim Tooher.

Side A
1. Don’t You Ever Get Tired (Of Hurting Me)?
2. (My Heart Is) Closed For The Season
3. I’m Lonely For You
4. Don’t Touch Me
5. Little Things Mean A Lot

Side B
1. Cover Me
2. Just Because You Can’t Be Mine
3. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye
4. Sweet Dreams
5. You’re Up To Your Same Old Tricks Again 

Side C
1. No Faith No Love
2. Ain’t That Peculiar
3. Don’t Let It Happen To Us
4. Today I Started Loving You Again
5. Words
6. These Arms Of Minde

Side D
1. Tell It Like It Is
2. Stand By Your Man
3. Chained & Bound
4. Willie & Laura Mae Jones
5. Angel Of The Morning
6. Traces

Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl
  • Only 1 left