Always Centered At Night: Vinyl 2LP


Release date: 14 June, 2024

On his new album always centered at night, moby has once again conjured into reality a collection of heartachingly beautiful, tender-yet-defiant songs, made in collaboration with uniquely talented, soulfully aware, other-worldly vocalists. All the songs are love letters to the unrestricted and enchanting music scene of late ‘70s, early ‘80s New York that shaped Moby as a musician. The featured vocalists were given the same assignment: “Please don’t write anything commercial. Let it be weird. Let it be personal. It doesn’t have to make sense.”

“Because of that randomized freedom, I’ve been on the receiving end of so much genius work,” says moby. “And the result has been one of the most exciting, surprising things I’ve ever done as a musician, and it’s one of the most worthwhile things a human being can do: make tender, gentle, vulnerable music that’s a clarion call to act.”

Featured on this album are some of the most exciting vocalists of our time. Some are well-known - such as serpentwithfeet on the breathless daydream of a song ‘on air’, the jazzy soulstress Lady Blackbird on the haunting ‘dark days’, or the astounding poet and activist Benjamin Zephaniah on ‘where is your pride?’. Other contributors have been found in relative obscurity - such as friend and vocalist Brie O’Banion on the Cream cover ‘we’re going wrong’, or Sheffield poet laureate Danaé Wellington on the powerful ‘wild flame’.

“The goal for always centered at night is to do something uncompromising,” says moby. “To make music that is emotional, atmospheric and potentially beautiful. And what better use of this weird privilege I have than trying to foster creative expression that has uncompromising integrity?”


A1. On Air feat. Serpentwithfeet
A2. Dark Days feat. Lady Blackbird
A3. Where Is Your Pride? feat. Benjamin Zephaniah
A4. Transit feat. Gaidaa
B1. Wild Flame feat. Danaé Wellington
B2. Precious Mind feat. India Carney
B3. Should Sleep feat. J.P. Bimeni

C1. Feelings Come Undone feat. Raquel Rodriguez
C2. Medusa feat. Aynzli Jones
C3. We’re Going Wrong feat. Brie O’Banion
D1. Fall Back feat. Akemi Fox
D2. Sweet Moon feat. Choklate
D3. Ache For feat. José James

Vinyl LP
Always Centered At Night