The Police

Outlandos D'Amour: Vinyl LP


Release date: 8 December, 2014

Although poorly received on its initial release in 1978, The Police’s 1978 debut delivered three smash hits for A&M with 'So Lonely', 'Can't Stand Losing You' and 'Roxanne', eventually making the UK Top 10 in 1979. With their trademark fusion of reggae and rock, shot through with a definite pop sensibility, their debut still carried traces of their punkier roots, spent trawling the London club circuit of the late 70s. Thus, the album “offers a little something for everyone” according to Rolling Stone magazine, and featured “Loud and energetic rock'n'roll but short and catchy tunes (remember tunes?) with great playing and tight, interesting arrangements” according to Smash Hits. A US club tour exposed them to a New Wave audience, and with airplay for ‘Roxanne’, helped establish the band’s fame across America, reaching its zenith in 1983 with the Police’s final studio album, Synchronicity.

Side A

1. Next To You
2. So Lonely
4. Hole In My Life
5. Peanuts

Side B

1. Can't Stand Losing You
2. Truth Hits Everybody
3. Born In The 50's
4. Be My Girl - Sally
5. Masoko Tanga

Vinyl LP