Marianne Faithfull

Faithfull Forever: Limited Clear Vinyl LP [RSD24]


Release date: 10 May, 2024

Faithfull Forever… is a 1966 studio album by Marianne that was only issued in the United States. This RSD pressing marks its first U.K release and it has not been re-issued on vinyl in the U.S..

In 2024 Marianne celebrates her 60th anniversary in music, and for fans of her Decca catalogue Faithfull Forever… is a must. The album is a defining moment of the baroque pop sound and features some of Marianne’s best 60’s performances with interpretations of songs by writers particularly suited to her interpretive gifts. Standout compositions include ‘With You In Mind’ by Jackie De Shannon who had previously written ‘Come And Stay With Me’ for her, Donovan contributes ‘In The Night Time’ aka ‘Hampstead Incident’ which was released 6 months in advance of his own recording, Bob Lind’s ‘Counting’ arranged by Jack Nitzsche and ‘Tomorrow’s Calling’ written for her by Eric Woolfson later of the Alan Parson’s project. The album features some unexpected song choices from Marianne including a pop arrangement of Ewan MacColl’s ‘The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face’ originally recorded for her second folk LP ‘North Country Maid’, her reading of the Love theme from ‘The Umbrellas of Cherbourg’ soundtrack performed in the original French, and a foray into jazz on the Herzog Jr / Kitchins classic ‘Some Other Spring’ which will be a revelation to those who only know Marianne as a singer of folk pop. This track along with ‘Lucky Girl’ by Les Reed and Barry Mason and Norma Tanega’s ‘I’m The Sky’ have never been released in the UK, and are still unavailable elsewhere. 7 of the albums 12 tracks are also appearing on vinyl for the first time since the original release.

All tracks have been remastered from the original tapes by Andrew Batt, and this special RSD release comes with detailed sleeve notes featuring exclusive commentary by Marianne herself and new artwork based on the original sleeve shot by the master French photographer Jean-Marie Perier.

Vinyl LP
UMC - Decca