Ana Quiroga

Azabache: Limited Clear Vinyl LP


Release date: 20 October, 2023

Following notable releases on Editions Mego as Electronic music duo LCC, multiple singles and collaborations on Nicolas Jaar’s Other People label and Modern Obscure Music, Spanish experimental electronic artist Ana Quiroga announces her debut album Azabache.

Azabache is at its heart an enchanting album that explores themes of magic and rituals, cinematic, experimental and firmly rooted in place, family, and heritage.

Taking the listener through experimental, ambient soundscapes, drone techno and industrial, synth-based sonics, organic sound recordings with synthesizers, drums and drones.

Azabache brings together contrasting elements, the natural landscapes, majestic mountains, and untamed sea of her homeland in the Asturias are intertwined with a rich industrial heritage. Sci-fi technology, drone techno influences, and dark distorted sounds converge with the enchanting themes of folklore, witchcraft, and mysticism, creating a bewildering paradox of machine-like precision (representing the scientific and the proven) and the ethereal world of magic itself.

This intriguing juxtaposition blends the tangible and the intangible, offering a unique sonic experience that blurs the boundaries between the natural and the industrial, the technological and the mystical.

Mastered and cut by Matt Colton at Metropolis, London.


1. As Above
2. Where It Begins
3. La Figa
4. We, The Witches
5. Les Mis Muses
6. Tensegrity
7. Wallada
8. Tremors
9. Inner City Light
10. So Below

Vinyl LP