Everything But The Girl

Eden: Vinyl LP


Release date: 1 October, 2021

This reissue, now coming out on the bands own Buzzin’ Fly label, has been remastered and cut at half-speed by Miles Showell at Abbey Road.

The album contains the single “Each and Every One”, which peaked at number 28 on the UK Singles Chart.

The cover design was created by lead singer Tracey Thorn’s former bandmate in the Marine Girls, Jane Fox.

Tracey Thorn and Ben Watt met whilst at University in Hull in the early 80’s.

Both were signed independently to indie label Cherry Red Records, Ben as a solo artist and Tracey as part of the band The Marine Girls. They formed Everything But The Girl in early ‘82, releasing one single on Cherry Red (Cole Porter’s ‘Night & Day’) before signing to Blanco Y Negro records and releasing their debut album ‘Eden’ to critical acclaim.

Following this, they released 8 further highly praised and commercially successful studio albums including the much-loved classic singles, ‘These Early Days’, ‘Driving’ and the covers ‘I Don’t Want To Talk About It’ and ‘The Only Living Boy In New York’, ‘Missing’ and ‘Rollercoaster’.

‘Eden’ was their first full-length album. produced by Robin Millar (Sade, Fine Young Cannibals) it featured the single “Each and Every One”, which peaked at number 28 on the UK Singles Chart and was released in June 1984.

Ben and Tracey remain active. Ben is currently working on fourth solo album, whilst Tracey continues to write books and does literary tours to promote them

Vinyl LP
Buzzin Fly Records