• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

The Wave Pictures: When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings: Purple + Pink Sparkle Vinyl 2LP

When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings: Purple + Pink Sparkle Vinyl 2LP

The Wave Pictures

  • US$33.99
    Delivery from US$13.65

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 08 July 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Moshi Moshi
The Wave Pictures, industrious and prolific as ever, return on Thursday 18 November with ‘This Heart Of Mine’. Following two albums in 2018, ‘Brushes With Happiness’ and ‘Look Inside Your Heart’, this is the first track to be made available from their new double album ‘When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings’, due for 2022 release.

Formed over twenty years ago by Franic Rozycki and David Tattersall in Wymeswold, Leicestershire, and joined by Jonny ‘Hudderfield’ Helm since 2005, The Wave Pictures have released over twenty albums of their own, along with exciting side projects such as garage rock supergroup The Surfing Magazines, several albums with Stanley Brinks, and Dave’s recent guitar contributions to Billy Childish albums, with whom they also collaborated on their 2014 album ‘Great Big Flamingo Burning Moon’. Across these varied releases, accommodating Dave’s free flowing fountain of songwriting, The Wave Pictures have shown their deep affection for rock and roll, blues, jazz, classic rock, and of course Dave’s legendary love of good guitar solo.

With a nuance of autumn, ‘This Heart Of Mine’ references time and space travel & memory all rolled into one. Musically inspired by classic Neil Young, ‘This Heart Of Mine’ witnesses The Wave Pictures going full-on country and features cowboy harmonica from Dominic ‘Hotdog’ Brider, Franic Rozycki on mandolin, alongside Dave Tattersall’s gentle acoustic guitar strum.
1 A1. River of Gold  
2 A2. Back In The City  
3 A3. French Cricket  
4 A4. Never Better  
5 A5. Blink The Sun  
6 B1. Samsun  
7 B2This Heart of Mine  
8 B3. Douglas  
9 B4. Jennifer  
10 B5. Smell The Ocean  
11 C1. I'd Be Doing Anything  
12 C2. Hazel Irvine  
13 C3. Don't Forget Me  
14 C4. Winter Baby  
15 C5. Flight From Destruction  
16 D1. When The Purple Emperor Spreads His Wings  
17 D2. Never Let You Down  
18 D3. Dale It's A Damn Shame  
19 D4. Walking to Wymeswold  
20 D5. Secret Messages