• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Augustus Pablo: Rockers At King Tubby's: Black Vinyl LP

Rockers At King Tubby's: Black Vinyl LP

Augustus Pablo

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$7.91

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 25 March 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Jamaican Recordings
Augustus Pablo’s unique sound which was created around playing what could best be described as a child’s musical toy the Melodica, made him a very popular session player in the late 1970s and early 1980s.It was not only his unique talent of playing this instrument but also his talents on the piano and the keyboard. Pablo worked on a varied number of sessions for all the top Jamaican producers, but especially for King Tubby at his studio in the heart of the Waterhouse district of Kingston, Jamaica.

Augustus Pablo (b. Horace Swaby, 1954, St Andrew, Jamaica) cut his musical teeth with producer Herman Chin – Lo in 1969, with his first record ‘Iggy Iggy’. His second cut for the producer was to be the timeless ‘East of the River Nile’ which carried that haunting Far-Eastern feel that in many ways became his signature sound. We have concentrated for this release on his sessions at King Tubby’s studio where over a stream of producer Bunny Lee’s rhythms, Pablo’s talents were required. Rhythms that Bunny had already cut at the various other studio’s around Kingston, for example, Channel 1 where he had recorded his cut to the’ Declaration of Rights’ rhythm.

Randy’s Studio 17, where he recorded Horace Andy’s version of Bill Wither’s ‘ Ain’t No Sunshine’. To Dynamic Sounds studio, used for Delroy Wilson’s ‘Cool Operator’ , Errol Dunkley’s‘ Black Cinderella’ and John Holt’s ‘Clock On The Wall’. Even back to Coxonne Dodd’s Studio 1 for Alton Ellis’s ‘I’m Just A Guy’. Bunny’s vast set of master tapes, which he stored at King Tubby’s studio, were available to voice over or remix when the occasion should arise. Pablo was recruited on many occasions to add his magic to tracks both as a Melodica player and for additional piano and keyboards. These tracks in many cases would be used for the flip version side of the release that Bunny and Tubby were working on.
1 1 A Good Hearted Melody - Source: Left with a Broken Heart – The Paragons  
2 2 Prophecy a Fulfill - Source: It Dread in Babylon – Prince Jazzbo  
3 3 Oh Mama Oh - Source: Oh Mama- Nora Dean  
4 4 Desire - Source: My Desire – John Holt  
5 5 Feel the Spirit - Source: Feel the Spirit of Jah – U Roy  
6 6 Inna Cow Town - Source: Cow Town Skank – I Roy  
7 7 Ride the Train - Source: Mule Train – Count Prince Millar  
8 8 Rough Rider - Source: She Was a Rough Rider – Derrick Morgan  
9 9 Sunshine Dub - Source: Ain't No Sunshine – Horace Andy  
10 10 Blue Mood - Source: I’ll get along Somehow – Alton Ellis  
11 11 Show No Mercy - Source: Show some Mercy- Delroy Wilson  
12 12 Ride Mommy Ride - Source: Ride Mi Mommy – Derrick Morgan  
13 13 Just A Dub - Source: I’m Just a Guy – Alton Ellis  
14 14 Blowing Cool - Source: Cool Operator – Delroy Wilson