• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Gary Bartz & Maisha: Night Dreamer Direct-to-Disc Sessions: Vinyl LP

Night Dreamer Direct-to-Disc Sessions: Vinyl LP

Gary Bartz & Maisha

  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 12 August 2022
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Night Dreamer

Orchestrated by Gilles Peterson following their performances together at his We Out Here festival, legendary jazz saxophonist Gary Bartz and ensemble Maisha have recorded for Night Dreamer’s third ‘Direct To Disc’ session.

Gary Bartz, a hero of the US jazz scene, has quite a musical resume; his informative years were spent performing with Eric Dolphy, McCoy Tyner and Art Blakey and the Jazz Messengers after studying at the Juilliard Conservatory of Music. He recorded for key labels such as Milestone and Prestige and became a luminary of the 1970s fusion movement. Today he remains a formidable talent at the age of 79.

Maisha, a London-based, six-piece led by drummer Jake Long alongside the electric guitar of Shirley Tetteh; keyboardist Al MacSween; Axel Kaner-Lidstrom on trumpet; bass player Twm Dylan and Tim Doyle on percussion. The band debuted in 2018 with an EP for Jazz Re:freshed in 2016 before being snapped up by Gilles Peterson for their highly regarded album debut ‘There is a Place’ of 2018.

During Maisha’s European tour, Gary Bartz flew in from his native city of Maryland, Baltimore to record together (this would culminate, only a few weeks later, in their show for the prestigious London Jazz Festival, hosted at one of the city’s most loved and respected music venues: the Royal Festival Hall). Neither had recorded before in the direct-to-disc tradition and both rose to the idea immediately, relishing the challenge of doing so.


he session became a forum of ideas; the members of Maisha contributing melody, rhythm and phrasing next to the accomplished skill of Bartz. With his 50 years of musical experience ahead of the band, the musical synergy captured between the Blue Note artist and the young sextet has been captured in this unique and stirring recording.

The album features three tracks that were sketched, arranged and performed within the recording session alongside alternative versions two of Bartz’s original compositions from the early ’70s: the haunting ‘Uhuru Sasa’ and the spiralling jazz-funk of his ‘Dr Follows Dance’

Side A
1 Harlem to Haarlem  
2 The Stank  
Side B
1 Leta's Dance  
2 Uhuru Sasa (ND D2D Version)  
3 Dr Follows Dance (ND D2D Version)