• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Billy Preston: Encouraging Words

Encouraging Words

Billy Preston

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$8.55

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 29 October 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

To celebrate Billy Preston’s induction into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in October 2021 Apple Records and Universal Music Catalogue will be making Billy’s highly regarded 1970 album ‘Encouraging Words’ available on vinyl for a limited period.

First released in the UK on 11 September 1970 the album was co-produced by Billy and George Harrison, with two of George’s songs - ‘All Things Must Pass’ and ‘My Sweet Lord’ - issued here for the first time, two months before his own recordings appeared on the triple album 'All Things Must Pass'.

In 2010 Record Collector magazine described 'Encouraging Words' as "one of the finest titles in the Apple Records catalogue", while virtuoso keyboard player Rick Wakeman told BBC Radio 4's John Wilson he considered Preston's two Apple albums "absolute gems – a perfect combination of gospel and funk."

The album was last released on vinyl in 1992. The original album credits did not include details of contributing musicians, though the sleeve notes of the 2010 CD reissue included Eric Clapton, Klaus Voormann, Ringo Starr, Bobby Keys and the Edwin Hawkins Singers.

As a child prodigy, Billy played organ for the Gospel great Mahalia Jackson, and in 1957 at the age of ten he performed a vocal and organ duet with Nat ‘King’ Cole on his US television show. In 1962, aged 16 years-old, Billy joined Little Richard’s touring band with live dates including a performance in Liverpool, with The Beatles as the opening act.

In 1969 Billy worked with The Beatles once more, playing Hammond organ on the ‘Abbey Road’ album (the songs ‘Something’ and ‘I Want You (She’s So Heavy)’) and on their final studio album ‘Let It Be’ (on ‘Dig a Pony’, ‘I've Got a Feeling’, ‘One After 909’, ‘The Long and Winding Road’, ‘Dig It’, ‘Let It Be’ and ‘Get Back’). When ‘Get Back’ was released as a single in April 1969 it was credited to The Beatles with Billy Preston, the only occasion when a fifth musician’s name appeared on the record label.

On 30 January 1969, Billy performed with The Beatles at their famous ‘rooftop concert’ at the Apple Corps headquarters in London. The event was filmed for the 1970 documentary film Let It Be, while Billy’s profile looks set increase further when he appears in the forthcoming and much anticipated Peter Jackson documentary The Beatles: Get Back.

Side A
1 ‘Right Now’ (Billy Preston) (03:12)  
2 ‘Little Girl’ (Billy Preston) (03:25)  
3 ‘Use What You Got’ (Billy Preston) (04:18)  
4 ‘My Sweet Lord’ (George Harrison) (03:19)  
5 ‘Let The Music Play’ (Joe Greene/Billy Preston/Jesse Kirkland) (02:41)  
6 ‘The Same Thing Again’ (Billy Preston / James Herndon) (04:30)  
Side B
1 ‘I've Got A Feeling’ (John Lennon / Paul McCartney) (02:50)  
2 ‘Sing One For The Lord’ (George Harrison / Billy Preston) (03:46)  
3 ‘When You Are Mine’ (Billy Preston) (02:42)  
4 ‘I Don't Want You To Pretend’ (02:35)  
5 ‘Encouraging Words’ (Billy Preston) (03:32)  
6 ‘All Things Must Pass’ (George Harrison) (03:41)  
7 ‘You've Been Acting Strange’ (R.L. Williams) (03:22)  

More products from Billy Preston

Billy Preston: You Can’t Keep A Good Man Down: Limited Edition Pink & Purple Marbled Vinyl LP
Billy Preston
You Can’t Keep A Good Man Down: Limited Edition Pink & Purple Marbled Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days