• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: Kicking Against The Pricks

Kicking Against The Pricks

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

  • US$18.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 November 2014
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Number of Discs

‘Kicking Against The Pricks’ is Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds’ third album, released in 1986. For this record, which consists of cover versions, the Bad Seeds line up is Cave, new drummer Thomas Wydler, Mick Harvey, Blixa Bargeld and Barry Adamson. Cave would later downplay the importance of the record but said it helped the band develop musically.

Remarking on the song selection, Cave said, “They were all done for different reasons. Basically a list of songs were made and we tried to play them. We tried songs by all sorts of people that never got on the record. Some songs were tributes, like the Tom Jones song; others, we didn’t think were ever done particularly well in the first place. Some had haunted my childhood, like ‘The Carnival Is Over’.”

The strings were arranged by Mick Harvey and played by the Berliner Kaffeehausmusik Ensemble. ‘The Hammer Song’ is an entirely different song from the track with the same title on the 1990 Bad Seeds album ‘The Good Son’.

Vinyl is heavyweight 180gram.

Vinyl transfer approval overseen by Mick Harvey during Summer 2014 and cut at Abbey Road studios.

This edition, approved personally by Nick Cave, is finally available again on its original format.

1 Muddy Water  
2 I'm Gonna Kill That Woman  
3 Sleeping Annaleah  
4 Long Black Veil  
5 Hey Joe  
6 The Singer  
7 All Tomorrow's Parties  
8 By The Time I Get To Phoenix  
9 The Hammer Song  
10 Something's Gotten Hold Of My Heart  
11 Jesus Met The Woman At The Well  
12 The Carnival Is Over  

More products from Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: B-Sides & Rarities: Part II: 180gm Vinyl 2LP
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
B-Sides & Rarities: Part II: 180gm Vinyl 2LP
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds: B-Sides & Rarities: Part I & II: Deluxe 180gm 7LP Vinyl Boxset
Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds
B-Sides & Rarities: Part I & II: Deluxe 180gm 7LP Vinyl Boxset
Vinyl Box Set
In Stock