• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Ry Cooder: The Prodigal Son

The Prodigal Son

Ry Cooder

  • US$22.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 11 May 2018
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Caroline International

For nearly 50 years, the immense scope and influence of Ry Cooder's music has perhaps been felt as much, or more than heard. As musician, producer, songwriter and sage, the Santa Monica, California native has explored music and culture from across the city, the state, the country and around the world.

His latest album, The Prodigal Son, is all America, our spiritual, hopeful voices, our raw cries and our sly provocations, voiced through the songs of the Pilgrim Travelers, The Stanley Brothers, Blind Willie Johnson, and Ry Cooder himself. This is black and white gospel church music, our own history of the spirit, sounding completely fresh and contemporary, framed by Cooder's expressive vocals and graceful, elegant guitar work. Aided by his son, drummer and chief collaborator, Joachim Cooder, The Prodigal Son is a deft commentary on our ailing moral state. This is music for these times, a fearless dive into the country’s soul and the man, Ry Cooder.

1 straight street (James W. Alexander / Jesse Whitaker)  
2 shrinking man (Ry Cooder)  
3 gentrification (Ry Cooder / Joachim Cooder)  
4 everybody ought to treat a stranger right (Traditional; Blind Willie Johnson, Arr. by Ry Cooder)  
5 the prodigal son (Traditional: Arranged by Ry Cooder /Joachim Cooder)  
6 nobody’s fault but mine (Blind Willie Johnson / Arranged Ry Cooder / Joachim Cooder)  
7 you must unload (Alfred Reed)  
8 i’ll be rested when the roll is called (Traditional; Blind Roosevelt Graves, Arranged by Ry Cooder)  
9 harbor of love (Carter Stanley)  
10 j esus and woody (Ry Cooder)  
11 in his care (William L. Dawson)  

More products from Ry Cooder

Ry Cooder: Chicken Skin Music: Limited Edition Yellow Coloured Vinyl
Ry Cooder
Chicken Skin Music: Limited Edition Yellow Coloured Vinyl
Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Ry Cooder: Tresspass OST: Limited Edition Red Vinyl
Ry Cooder
Tresspass OST: Limited Edition Red Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock