The Shins: The Worms Heart

The Worms Heart

The Shins

  • US $20.73  

  • Release Date 19 January 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP

When James Mercer was recording his latest Shins LP Heart Worms as a creative exercise he decided to re-record the songs in the opposite way of the originals. Songs that were more rock and uptempo became more acoustic and slow, and songs that were acoustic and slow in tempo became more upbeat. They were flipped. The result of those sessions he calls, The Worms Heart.

What began as an exercise in songwriting transformed into a commentary on what it means to be a songwriter. After writing the first track for Heartworms (released 10 March 2017), James Mercer decided to recreate each song from scratch. Driven by its malleability, its ability to be foundationally identical, yet aesthetically and sonically utterly new, Mercer continued experimenting until he had two complete albums: one original and one “flipped”.

Mercer’s ability to create two totally divergent albums from the same underlying compositions not only highlights his immense capability as a songwriter, but also functions as a reminder of what it means to be an artist, how an artist acts as both the master and facilitator of his artistic product.

1 The Fear (Flipped)  
2 So Now What (Flipped)  
3 Heartworms (Flipped)  
4 Dead Alive (Flipped)  
5 Half a Million (Flipped)  
6 Rubber Ballz (Flipped)  
7 Mildenhall (Flipped)  
8 Fantasy Island (Flipped)  
9 Cherry Hearts (Flipped)  
10 Painting a Hole (Flipped)  
11 Name For You (Flipped)  

More products from The Shins

The Shins: Wincing The Night Away
The Shins
Wincing The Night Away
Vinyl LP
US $23.99
Dispatched within 5 days