• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Big Deal: Lights Out

Lights Out

Big Deal

  • US $21.99  

  • Release Date 05 September 2011
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP + CD
Number of Discs
Mute Artists

180g heavy vinyl with a bonus CD of the album

It is with great excitement that Big Deal unveil details of their eagerly anticipated debut album Lights Out, released on 29 August, in addition to a series of dates that includes a very special show at the Tamesis Dock, a converted barge on the Albert Embankment, London, on 24 August.

With the strum of an acoustic guitar set against the fuzzed out chords of an electric guitar and the tones of a boy / girl vocal, the band announced their arrival in the summer of last year. Since then Kacey Underwood and Alice Costelloe have been making waves with their tales of teen angst and adult compromise.

Lights Out, co-produced by Underwood and Dean Reid, emerges from its bedroom beginnings as a collection of 12 deeply personal songs with universal appeal, innately tapping into the innocence, insecurity, wonder and (sometimes unrequited) love and lust of relationships. The album opens with the nostalgic sweep of the Distant Neighborhood, a blissful, sun-kissed introduction. The raw, confessional Talk perfectly illustrates the push-pull of relationships, Seraphine is enchanting in its deep reflection while Homework is achingly beautiful in its schoolyard simplicity. Locked Up, a wall-of-sound swoon fleshed out from its early recordings, could well be one of the most raggedly affecting love songs this year. Overall, these are songs which are structurally sparse yet emotively rich, sweet and seductive yet raw and jagged.

1 Distant Neighborhood  
2 Chair  
3 Cool Like Kurt  
4 Swoon  
5 Homework  
6 Talk  
7 With The World At My Feet  
8 Locked Up  
9 Summer Cold  
10 Visions  
11 Seraphine  
12 Pi  

More products from Big Deal

Big Deal: June Gloom
Big Deal
June Gloom
Vinyl LP + CD
US $21.99
In Stock