• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Philip Glass: The Illusionist: Original Soundtrack

The Illusionist: Original Soundtrack

Philip Glass

  • US $27.99  

  • Release Date 17 March 2017
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

  • 180 gram audiophile vinyl
  • PVC protective sleeve
  • Includes insert
  • Music by classical composer Philip Glass
  • First time on vinyl!

The Illusionist is an American romantic mystery film written and directed by Neil Burger and starring Edward Norton, Paul Giamatti, and Jessica Biel. It is based loosely on Steven Millhauser's short story, "Eisenheim the Illusionist". The film tells the story of Eisenheim, a magician in fin de siecle Vienna, who reunites with his childhood love, a woman far above his social standing. The film also depicts a fictionalized version of the Mayerling Incident. The film was a commercial and critical success.

The Illusionist features an original score by acclaimed modern minimalist composer Philip Glass. Glass' renowned restrained, yet elegant style has captivated audiences around the world for years. "The soundtrack to The Illusionist is a driving force to the movie," comments director Neil Burger.

Philip Glass, who recently celebrated his 80th birthday, chooses a sweeping simplicity and proves the age-old statement that less is more. His score for the film The Illusionist was widely acclaimed upon its release in 2006. The music for the film evokes the feeling of mystery and wonder that surrounds the famous magician Eisenheim and it is performed brilliantly by the Czech Film Orchestra under the baton of Michael Riesman.

Side A

1. The Illusionist
2. Do You Know Me?
3. Chance Encounter
4. The Locket
5. The Orange Tree
6. The Mirror
7. Wish I Would See You Again 1:26
8. The Sword
9. Meeting In The Carriage
10. Sophie
11. The Secret Plot
12. Sophie's Ride To The Castle

Side B
1. The Accident
2. The New Theater
3. Frankel Appears
4. A Shout From The Crowd
5. Eisenheim Disappears
6. The Search
7. The Missing Gem
8. The Chase
9. Life In The Mountains

More products from Philip Glass

Philip Glass: Solo Piano
Philip Glass
Solo Piano
Vinyl LP
US $29.99
Dispatched within 5 days
Philip Glass: Jane Original Soundtrack
Philip Glass
Jane Original Soundtrack
Double Vinyl LP
US $33.99
In Stock