• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Major Surgery: The First Cut: Original, Limited Edition Numbered Vinyl + Signed Certificate of Authenticity

The First Cut: Original, Limited Edition Numbered Vinyl + Signed Certificate of Authenticity

Major Surgery

  • US$43.99
    Delivery from US$8.37

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 April 2020
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Major Surgery were a pioneering quartet from British jazz-rock's early days in the 1970s, with south London saxophonist Don Weller their dominant voice. With their quick-witted and canny takes on soul-jazz, Latin music and reggae, they deserved more of a recording life – but this was their only album.

Only 500 were originally pressed of this Malcolm Mills produced LP in 1976. The music has aged well, in Weller's mix of stop-start surges and warbling warmth on Jubileevit, the dirgey Dog and Bull Fight, the soul-sax anthem Foul Group Practices and the bouncing Calypso Reg. Guitarist Jimmy Roche occasionally sounds like an interloper from a different gig, and Weller's solo loquacity is a hard act to follow throughout; but this accessible and inventive music has much appeal, with Weller establishing just why he was a great in the making, and Tony Marsh a firestorm at the drums.

"In my liner notes of the 2012 CD release of this album I recall that when the vinyl was issued in 1977 - “I get five hundred LPs pressed...manage to sell a few hundred...keep the rest...it disappears into legend.”"

"During a recent survey of my archive, I discovered the albums that I had kept. At the time of manufacture, the records were not shrink-wrapped and have consequently acquired a visible maturity. They are however, all un-played."

"I have chosen to make them available as a numbered, limited edition. Each album comes with this signed certificate of authenticity – Malcolm Mills"

1 Dog And Bull Fight  
2 Foul Group Practices  
3 Jubileevit  
4 Hoe Down Up  
5 Shrimp Boats