Shearwater: Jet Plane And Oxbow
More images

Jet Plane And Oxbow


  • US $28.99  

  • Release Date 22 January 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Sub Pop

Shearwater release ‘Jet Plane And Oxbow’, their new full length studio album.

The album, which features the highlights ‘Quiet Americans’ and ‘Only Child’, was produced by Danny Reisch at studios in Austin and Los Angeles and mastered by Greg Calbi at Sterling Sound.

This is definitely Shearwater’s biggest and loudest record - it’s easy to imagine these songs roaring from the stage - but it’s also their most detailed and intricate one. Front man Jonathan Meiburg and producer / engineer Reisch spent two years crafting ‘Jet Plane And Oxbow’ with help from drummer Cully Symington, longtime Shearwater associates Howard Draper and Lucas Oswald and tourmates Jesca Hoop, Abram Shook and Jenn Wasner.

This time the band’s secret weapon is film composer and percussionist Brian Reitzell, whose soundtracks include ‘The Virgin Suicides’, ‘Lost In Translation’, ‘The Bling Ring’, and ‘30 Days Of Night’. Reitzell’s arsenal of strange instruments emphasizes ‘Jet Plane And Oxbow’’s cinematic depth and scope and reflects the band’s choice to anchor the record in the era when digital technology was just beginning to transform the world of recorded music. In Shearwater’s hands this doesn’t feel like nostalgia; the racing synths and hammered dulcimers of heart-pounding opener ‘Prime’ or the addled motorik of ‘Radio Silence’ sound more like a metaphor for our own bewildering moment.

1. Prime
2. Quiet Americans
3. A Long Time Away
4. Backchannels
5. Filaments
6. Pale Kings
7. Only Child
8. Glass Bones
9. Wildlife In America
10. Radio Silence
11. Stray Light At Clouds Hill

This product is also available in the following formats