Sunflower Bean: Human Ceremony

Human Ceremony

Sunflower Bean

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 05 February 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Fat Possum

New York trio Sunflower Bean’s full length debut album ‘Human Ceremony’ emerges at the intersection of dreamy modern psychedelica and urgent fuzzed-out bliss. That push-and-pull colours the aural tapestry of these three musicians - Jacob Faber (drums), Julia Cumming (vocals / bass) and Nick Kivlen (vocals / guitars).

Diversity has defined the group’s approach since Nick and Jacob started jamming back in high school. They would hole up in Jacob’s Long Island basement for hours on end, channelling this vast cadre of influences. Julia’s addition would only expand that creative palette further in 2013.

Through constant gigging around New York (100 shows in one year), Sunflower Bean sprouted into a sonic enigma, boasting a fiery musical call-and-response that serves as a centrepiece, giving the music what Jacob refers to as a ‘lyrical aspect’ between the guitars, drums, and bass.

1. Human Ceremony
2. Come On
3. 2013
4. Easier Said
5. This Kinda Feeling
6. I Was Home
7. Creation Myth
8. Wall Watcher
9. I Want You To Give Me Enough Time
10. Oh, I Just Don’t Know
11. Space Exploration Disaster