Gong: Angels Egg

Angels Egg


  • US $28.99  

  • Release Date 03 May 2019
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP

PART 2 OF THE RADIO GNOME INVISIBLE TRILOGY WITH 2015 REMASTER. This classic Gong trilogy is released on mid-price digipak CDs featuring remastered audio and 8-page booklets and on 180g heavyweight audiophile “invisible” vinyl featuring remastered audio in gatefold packaging and 16-page booklets..“this is their holy grail, uncarved block and philosopher’s stone rolled into one” - Classic Rock Gong’s quintessential trilogy comprised of the albums ‘Flying Teapot’, ‘Angel’s Egg’ and ‘You’ are reissued worldwide by BYG/Charly Records, remastered in 2015 from the original tapes by Nick Robbins at Soundmastering Studios. ‘Angel’s Egg’ is not your usual progressive rock album. Very quirky, with many, mostly brief compositions, the album is a tad less spacy than ‘Flying Teapot’, with just a few psychedelic-inspired lyrics, and is very technically adept. This eclectic composition travels through several movements and time changes and comes across as a perpetually progressing piece. The album sees the classic Gong line-up in full swing with primo Daevid Allen vocals and lyrics, and Steve Hillage’s first full inclusion to the band bearing fruit with musical quality akin to his solo work.

The current line-up, which features Kavus Torabi (Knifeworld) following the passing of founder Daevid Allen, is enjoying the success and worldwide tour of 2016 album ‘Rejoice! I’m Dead!’ and have revealed the first of their 2019 festival appearances at the UK’s HRH Prog.

1 Other Side Of The Sky  
2 Sold To The Highest Buddha  
3 Castle In The Clouds  
4 Prostitute Poem  
5 Givin’ My Luv To You  
6 Selene  
7 Flute Salad  
8 Oily Way  
9 Outer Temple  
10 Inner Temple  
11 Percolations  
12 Love Is How You Make It  
13 I Never Glid Before  
14 Eat That Phonebook Coda