• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Various Artists: The Trojan Story: Limited Edition 3LP & Book Box Set

The Trojan Story: Limited Edition 3LP & Book Box Set

Various Artists

  • US$82.99
    Delivery from US$18.18

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 18 June 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl Box Set
3LP Box Set

Original Artwork

50-Page Illustrated Booklet - Commentary by Rob Bell & Rusty Zinn

Historic Collection Of Jamaican Music On 3LP!

Featuring Lee Perry, The Maytals, Desmond Dekker, Jimmy Cliff & More!

One of the most significant collections in Trojan's immense catalog, the The Trojan Story album dramatically changed the perception of Jamaican music among the general British public outside of the country's Afro-Caribbean population. Prior to its release in 1971 there had never been an attempt to present a comprehensive anthology of the island's musical development, with vintage ska, rock steady and reggae widely regarded as obsolete and of precious little merit. The treble disc set, which became an instant best-seller, had been the brainchild of Trojan's label manager and Black Music fan, Rob Bell, who, assisted by Trojan stalwarts, Dandy Livingstone, Webster Shrowder, Des Bryan and Joe Sinclair, produced arguably the most significant Jamaican music retrospectives of all time.

Now, 50 years following its original release, this hugely influential album has been revisited by Bell, along with reggae musician, Rusty Zinn, who have succeeded in improving what was already an almost perfect collection. Presented in the original eye-catching artwork, the set is further enhanced by a highly illustrated 50-page booklet in which Bell and Zinn relate the stories behind the release life at Trojan in the '60s and early '70s and the 50 tracks featured on the compilation.
LP1 Side B
1 Rough And Tough – Stranger Cole  
2 Man To Man – Kentrick Patrick  
3 Uno-Dos-Tres – Stranger & Ken  
4 Slow Boat – Al T. Joe  
5 Rude Boy – Duke Reid's Group  
6 Gone Is Yesterday – Higgs & Wilson  
7 I'm In The Mood For Ska – Lord Tanamo  
8 Virginia Ska – The Baba Brooks Band  
9 Satan – Justin Hinds & The Dominoes  
LP2 Side B
1 Dreader Than Dread – Honey Boy Martin & The Voices  
2 It's Raining – The Three Tops  
3 The Whip – The Ethiopians  
4 Pretty Africa – Desmond Dekker & The Aces  
5 Rock Steady – Alton Ellis &The Flames  
6 Rock Steady Train – Ewan & Jerry  
7 King Without A Throne – Sugar Simone  
8 Perfidia – Phyllis Dillon  
LP3 Side B
1 Tell Me Baby – Delano Stewart  
2 Mama Look Deh – The Reggae Boys  
3 Hong Kong Flu – The Ethiopians  
4 Pressure Drop – The Maytals  
5 Them A Laugh And A Ki ki – The Soul Mates  
6 Walking In The Rain – The Melodians  
7 Satisfaction – Carl Dawkins  
8 Black And White – The Maytones  
9 Rasta Never Fails – The Charmers  
LP 1 Side A
1 Invitation To Jamaica – Lord Tanamo  
2 Fat Man – Derrick Morgan  
3 Tell Me Darling – Jackie Edwards  
4 Running Around – Owen Gray  
5 Miss Jamaica – Jimmy Cliff  
6 Housewife's Choice – Derrick And Patsy  
7 Give Me All Of Your Love – The Continentals  
8 Darling Patricia – Owen Gray  
LP 2 Side A
1 One Eyed Giant – Baba Brooks & His Band  
2 Every Night – Joe White and Chuck  
3 King Size – Baba Brooks & His Band  
4 Syncopate – The Astronauts  
5 Keep The Pressure On – Winston & George  
6 Oh Babe – The Techniques  
7 Train To Skaville – The Ethiopians  
8 Rudy, A Message To You - Dandy Livingstone  
LP 3 Side A
1 Musical Train – Roy Shirley  
2 Do The Beng Beng – Derrick Morgan  
3 Way Of Life - Lynn Taitt & The Jets  
4 Second Fiddle – Tommy McCook & The Supersonics  
5 People Funny Boy – Lee ‘Scratch' Perry  
6 I've Got To Get You Off My Mind – The Tennors  
7 Do The Reggay – The Maytals  
8 Nana – The Slickers