• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Aretha Franklin: The Electrifying / A Bit of Soul

The Electrifying / A Bit of Soul

Aretha Franklin

  • US$39.99
    Delivery from US$16.55

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 05 October 2018
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Triple Vinyl LP
Music On Vinyl

In order to celebrate Aretha Franklin’s life in Pop music, Music On Vinyl are re-releasing this double album plus bonus 10” with some of her best recordings for Columbia Records.

The remarkable recordings in this deluxe package make a convincing case that Aretha Franklin was already royalty by the time she made her first album for Columbia Records as an 18-year-old gospel singer brimming with hope, possibility and a glimpse of glory.

Newly mastered from the original analogue tapes, The Electrifying Aretha Franklin and A Bit of Soul – along with a bonus 10-inch EP – are landmark recordings from Aretha’s remarkable career at Columbia. Electrifying electrified audiences when it was released in 1962, winning Aretha top honours in DownBeat magazine’s prestigious listeners’ poll. Aretha’s brief output for Columbia set the stage for her ascendance as the Queen of Soul at Atlantic Records.

But A Bit of Soul demonstrates how she found her voice at Columbia. Presented for the first time in its original form, we can hear her divinely inspired soul fire, emerging interpretative grace and vocal sophistication. Indeed, we can hear the very evolution of her musical genius.

A Bit Of Soul (Previously unreleased album) 1LP
1 A1 Follow Your Heart (2:26)  
2 A2 Only The One You Love(2:24)  
3 A3 One Step Ahead (2:34)  
4 A4 Can't You Just See Me (2:03)  
5 A5 How To Murder Your Wife (2:55)  
6 A6 A Little Bit Of Soul (2:21)  
7 A7 Cry Like A Baby (2:13)  
8 A8 Her Little Heart Went To Loveland (2:34)  
9 A9 Remember Me 2:13)  
10 A10 Land Of Dreams (2:14)  
11 A11 Little Miss Raggedy Ann (2:10)  
12 B1 Deeper (2:12) B2 I Still Can't Forget (2:55)  
13 B3 Rose Of Washington Square (2:38)  
14 B4 Take It Like You Give It (Mono Mix) (1:53)  
15 B5 Follow Your Heart (Mono Mix) (2:26)  
16 B6 Only The One You Love (Mono Mix) (2:22)  
17 B7 One Step Ahead (Mono Mix) (2:27)  
18 B8 How To Murder Your Wife (Mono Mix) (2:49)  
19 B9 A Little Bit Of Soul (Mono Mix) (2:18)  
20 B10 Cry Like A Baby (Mono Mix) (2:06)  
21 B11 Her Little Heart Went To Loveland (Mono Mix) (2:35)  
1 A1 Introduction To Hard Times (0:31)  
2 A2 Hard Times (No One Knows Better Than I) (Take 2) (3:08)  
3 A3 When They Ask About You (2:59)  
4 A4 Operation Heartbreak (2:59)  
5 B1 I Surrender, Dear (Mono Mix) (2:46)  
6 B2 Rough Lover (Mono Mix) (2:47)  
7 B3 Kissin' By The Mistletoe (Mono Mix) (2:22)  
The Electrifying Aretha 1LP + 10”
1 A1 You Made Me Love You (2:17)  
2 A2 I Told You So (2:41)  
3 A3 RockABye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody (2:22)  
4 A4 Nobody Like You (2:21)  
5 A5 Exactly Like You (2:35)  
6 A6 It's So Heartbreakin' (2:38)  
7 B1 Rough Lover (2:45)  
8 B2 Blue Holiday (2:52)  
9 B3 Just For You (2:11)  
10 B4 That Lucky Old Sun (3:18)  
11 B5 I Surrender, Dear (2:45)  
12 B6 AcCentTchuAte The Positive (2:16)  

More products from Aretha Franklin

Aretha Franklin: Aretha: The Queen of Soul
Aretha Franklin
Aretha: The Queen of Soul
In Stock
Aretha Franklin: Aretha: Limited Edition Translucent Green Vinyl
Aretha Franklin
Aretha: Limited Edition Translucent Green Vinyl
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days