• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Coma World: Coma World: Limited Edition Vinyl [300]

Coma World: Limited Edition Vinyl [300]

Coma World

  • US$25.99
    Delivery from US$7.82

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 05 February 2021
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Byrd Out
Coma World is a new collaboration between Maxwell Hallett, a.k.a. Betamax (The Comet Is Coming/Soccer96) and Pete Bennie (Speaker’s Corner Quartet) bringing together their potent chemistry in an intoxifying debut LP. Betamax drives the duo with his signature ‘rhythmadelic’ drum rapture as Pete elegantly pummels bass tones into an assortment of wonky pockets. Both layer on a blanket of electronic dark matter to create a sonic womb-like world laid out for the brave listener to explore. This is dub and jazz reduced to the raw fundamentals of experimentation, trance and spontaneity.

Inspired by a friend’s recollections of being in a coma, the duo delve through the mysteries of consciousness and return with a striking array of colourful sound artefacts. From Cosmic flushes that wouldn’t sound amiss on a record by Byrd Out collaborator the late, great Andrew Weatherall, through to drowsy groove meditations and explosive eruptions, the album plays by its own rules but demands attention. The two artists sling their dirty funk through cold clouds of darkness leaving psychedelic trails of bleeping fractal spillage. The sonic experimentation is distilled through analogue studio relics followed by a rugged ‘all hands-on deck’ live mix down performance from 1/4” tape. The result is a spontaneous collection of sonic debris that will be administered to willing participants through 12” vinyl format.
1 A1. Wipe and Erase  
2 A2. Megatone  
3 A3. Strangers in the Home  
4 A4. Duty to Die  
5 A5. Thief  
6 A6. Wild Colours  
7 A7. Cream Submarine  
8 B1. Bouncing Bunnies  
9 B2. Wake and Fake  
10 B3. Oh My Eyes  
11 B4. No Focus  
12 B5. Some Sleep for the Weak  
13 B6. Paranoid Visions of Worm  
14 B7. Oblonge  
15 B8. Mind Grinder