• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Joni Mitchell: The Asylum Albums (1972-1975): Vinyl 5LP Box Set

The Asylum Albums (1972-1975): Vinyl 5LP Box Set

Joni Mitchell

  • US$210.99
    Delivery from US$50.41

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 September 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl Box Set

Joni Mitchell was at a turning point 50 years ago. After making four acclaimed albums with Reprise Records, including her 1971 masterpiece Blue, she left the label to join the brand-new Asylum Records in 1972. Over the next seven years, Mitchell would record some of the most acclaimed music of her career while changing her musical direction by adding more jazz elements into her song writing. The evolution culminated in 1979 with Mingus, her collaboration with jazz titan Charles Mingus, and her studio last album for Asylum.

The Asylum Albums (1972-1975), the next instalment in the Joni Mitchell archive series, explores the beginning of that prolific era. The collection features newly remastered versions of For The Roses (1972), Court And Spark (1974), the double live album Miles Of Aisles (1974), and The Hissing Of Summer Lawns (1975). All four were recently remastered by Bernie Grundman. The Asylum Albums (1972-1975) is available on 5-LP 180-gram vinyl (Limited Edition Of 20,000). The cover art for the set features a previously unseen painting by Mitchell. The set also includes an essay by friend and fellow Canadian Neil Young.

The Asylum Albums (1972-1975), follows Mitchell’s musical evolution over four albums as she embraced more jazz-inspired pieces and moved away from the folk and pop of her early years. It includes essential tracks like her first Top 40 hit, “You Turn Me On, I’m A Radio” and her highest-charting (#7) single “Help Me,” plus favourites like “Free Man In Paris,” “Raised On Robbery” and “In France They Kiss On Main Street.” Mitchell has been intimately involved in producing the collection, lending her vision and personal touch to every element.

LP 2
1 Court and Spark  
2 Help Me  
3 Free Man in Paris  
4 People s Parties  
5 Same Situation  
6 Car On a Hill  
7 Down to You  
8 Just Like This Train  
9 Raised On Robbery  
10 Trouble Child  
11 Twisted  
LP 3
1 You Turn Me On I m a Radio  
2 Big Yellow Taxi  
3 Rainy Night House  
4 Woodstock  
5 Cactus Tree  
6 Cold Blue Steel & Sweet Fire  
7 Woman of Heart and Mind  
8 A Case of You  
9 Blue  
LP 4
1 Circle Game  
2 People s Parties  
3 All I Want  
4 Real Good for Free  
5 Both Sides Now  
6 Carey  
7 The Last Time I Saw Richard  
8 Jericho  
9 Love Or Money  
LP 5
1 In France They Kiss On Main Street  
2 The Jungle Line  
3 Edith and the Kingpin  
4 Don't Interupt the Sorrow  
5 Shades of Scarlett Conquering  
6 The Hissing of Summer Lawns  
7 The Boho Dance  
8 Harry s House/Centerpiece  
9 Sweet Bird  
10 Shadows and Light  
1 LP 1  
2 Banquet  
3 Cold Blue Steel & Sweet Fire  
4 Barangrill  
5 Lesson in Survival  
6 Let the Wind Carry Me  
7 For the Roses  
8 See You Sometime  
9 Electricity  
10 You Turn Me On I m a Radio  
11 Blonde in the Bleachers  
12 Woman of Heart and Mind  
13 Judgement of the Moon and Stars (Ludwig s Tune)