• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

The Nightingales: In The Good Old Country Way: Black Vinyl 2LP

In The Good Old Country Way: Black Vinyl 2LP

The Nightingales

  • US$35.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 July 2022
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Call of the Void

The Nightingales' last original full-length for two decades stands as the final masterpiece postpunk album released before the C86 era. Back on vinyl for the first time in over 3 decades, the reissue is updated to include the whole of the 1985's 7" single "It's A Cracker" and "What A Carry On" 12" EP, plus a clutch of rare tracks never before released on vinyl and a bit of history from Robert Lloyd. Despondently anti-Thatcher and with an air of hopelessness, In The Good Old Country Way has the sense that time was allowed for experimentation and reflection during its creation. Expectations were high as The Nightingales released their sole Vindaloo album and possibly the most underrated album of the postpunk era. The opening number is heavy on the hoedown, not unlike records their pals The Mekons would release around the same time - a rootsy underlayment to songs of wit, energy and observation, adaptable both to lengthy groove-based observation and high-octane rants alike. Maria Smith's violin weaves in and out of songs, while the rhythm section of Pete Jenner (bass) and Ron Collins (drums) hold what might have been a disjointed mess, but it's multi-instrumentalist / arranger Pete Byrchmore who shares the spotlight with Lloyd. "It's A Cracker" stuns, not stylistically dissimilar to their recent records for the first ninety seconds, though featuring a bridge hinting at new developments in their sound which could be heard on the next Nightingales release, ‘What A Carry On’. A sublime record, it features the powerful title track in two version, one of the band's best songs, "Comfort And Joy", and the tenderly alienating "First My Job". "Lloyd's cracked it. A fucking good album." Mark E. Smith, The Fall.

Track listing:
1 The Headache Collector  
2 Down In The Dumps  
3 Leave It Out  
4 Comfort And Joy  
5 Coincidence  
6 I Spit In Your Gravy  
7 Square Circle  
8 Part Time Moral England  
9 How To Age  
10 No Can Do  
11 It's A Cracker  
12 Here We Go Now  
13 What A Carry On  
14 Carry On Carrying On  
15 Comfort And Joy (ep version)  
16 First My Job  
17 Let's Surf  
18 Crafty Fag (live)  
19 Down In The Dumps (version 2)  
20 At The End Of The Day  

More products from The Nightingales

The Nightingales: Pigs on Purpose: Double Blue Gatefold Vinyl
The Nightingales
Pigs on Purpose: Double Blue Gatefold Vinyl
Double Vinyl LP
In Stock
The Nightingales: King Rocker: Black Vinyl LP The Nightingales: King Rocker: Black Vinyl LP
The Nightingales
King Rocker: Black Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
The Nightingales: The Last Laugh: Vinyl LP
The Nightingales
The Last Laugh: Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP