• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Various Artists: Wattstax: The Complete Concert 10LP Vinyl Box Set
More images

Wattstax: The Complete Concert 10LP Vinyl Box Set

Various Artists

  • US$331.00
    Delivery from US$68.73

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 24 February 2023
Product code
Vinyl Box Set
Craft Recordings

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the iconic WATTSTAX event that took place at the L.A. Memorial Coliseum in 1972, Stax Records presents “Wattstax: The Complete Concert”. Featuring the full L.A. Memorial Coliseum show with speeches and other talk from the stage. The set also features a 68-page, full-color book with introduction by Wattstax creator Al Bell, plus new essays by Rob Bowman and A. Scott Galloway. Featured artists include Isaac Haves, Eddie Floyd, The Staple Singers and more.

Wattstax was a benefit concert organized by Stax Records in conjunction with the Watt Summer Festival to commemorate the seventh anniversary of the 1965 Watts riots in Los Angeles. Attended by more than 100,000 people and lasting 7 hours, the concert took place at the Los Angeles Memorial Coliseum on August 20, 1972, and featured a mix of Soul, Funk and Gospel. It featured performances by Stax’s biggest artists with a line-up that included Isaac Hayes, the Staple Singers, Rufus Thomas, Johnnie Taylor, the Bar-Kays and many more. Rev. Jesse Jackson was featured at the event, acting as MC for the day and opening the event with his often referenced ‘I Am Somebody’ speech. A 2-LP soundtrack of the concert’s highlights was releases several month later selling more than 500,000 copies just weeks after its release. This was followed in 1973 by the Mel Stuart directed concert film ‘Wattstax’ which features Richard Pryor as the host of the film and went on to be nominated for a Golden Globe award for Best Documentary in 1974. In 2020, the film was selected for preservation in the United States National Film Registry by the Library of Congress as being “culturally, historically, or aesthetically significant”. (Note: The film at the US National Film Registry by the Library of Congress also includes an essay by Al Bell, the President/owner of Stax at the time of the concert).

LP1 - Side A
1 Dale Warren & The Wattstax ’72 Orchestra – Salvation Symphony  
LP1 - Side B
1 Kim Weston – The Star Spangled Banner*  
2 Tommy Jacquette & Jesse Jackson – Opening Announcements  
3 Kim Weston – Lift Every Voice and Sing  
4 Melvin Van Peebles – We’re here to consecrate, not desecrate  
LP2 - Side C
1 The Staple Singers – Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom-Boom)  
2 The Staple Singers – Are You Sure  
3 The Staple Singers – I Like the Things About You  
4 The Staple Singers – Respect Yourself  
5 The Staple Singers – I’ll Take You There  
LP2 - Side D
1 Tommy Jacquette & Richard Roundtree – Wattstax Day Proclamation  
2 Jimmy Jones – Somebody Bigger Than You and I  
3 Louise McCord – Better Get A Move On  
4 Debra Manning – Precious Lord Take My Hand  
LP3 - Side E
1 Eric Mercury – I Shall Not Be Moved*  
2 Freddie Robinson – At the Drive In*  
3 Lee Sain – Them Hot Pants  
4 Ernie Hines – What Would I Do*  
5 Little Sonny – Wade In the Water  
LP3 - Side F
1 William Bell – I Forgot to Be Your Lover  
2 The Newcomers – Pin the Tail On the Donkey  
3 Eddie Floyd – Knock On Wood  
4 The Temprees – Explain It to Her Mama  
5 Frederick Knight – I’ve Been Lonely for So Long  
6 The Golden 13 – Old Time Religion  
LP4 - Side G
1 William Bell – Al Bell Award Presentation  
2 The Rance Allen Group – Lying On the Truth  
3 The Rance Allen Group – Up Above My Head  
4 William Bell – David Porter Introduction  
LP4 - Side H
1 The David Porter Show – Introduction  
2 David Porter – Ain’t That Loving You (For More Reasons Than One)  
3 David Porter – I Can’t See When I Want To  
4 David Porter – Reach Out and Touch (Somebody’s Hand)  
LP5 - Side I
1 William Bell – The Bar-Kays Introduction  
2 The Bar-Kays – Son of Shaft/Feel It  
3 The Bar-Kays – In the Hole  
4 The Bar-Kays – I Can’t Turn You Loose  
LP5 - Side J
1 William Bell – Tommy Tate Introduction  
2 Tommy Tate – I Remember*  
3 William Bell – Please move back to the stands  
4 Tommy Tate – Help Me Love*  
5 Tommy Tate – School of Life*  
LP6 - Side K
1 William Bell & John Kasandra – Carla Thomas Introduction  
2 Carla Thomas – Pick Up the Pieces  
3 Carla Thomas – I Like What You’re Doing (To Me)  
4 Carla Thomas – B-A-B-Y  
5 Carla Thomas – Gee Whiz  
LP6 - Side L
1 Carla Thomas – I Have A God Who Loves  
2 John KaSandra – Albert King Introduction  
3 Albert King – Match Box Blues  
4 Albert King – Got to Be Some Changes Made  
5 Albert King – I’ll Play the Blues For You  
LP7 - Side M
1 Albert King – Killing Floor  
2 Albert King – Angel of Mercy  
3 John KaSandra – Rufus Thomas Introduction  
4 John KaSandra & Rufus Thomas – Rufus Thomas Entrance  
5 Rufus Thomas – The Breakdown  
6 John KaSandra & Rufus Thomas – Kindly go back to your seats  
LP7 - Side N
1 Rufus Thomas – Do the Funky Chicken  
2 Rufus Thomas – Do the Funky Penguin  
LP8 - Side O
1 Jesse Jackson – I am, somebody  
2 The Soul Children – I Don’t Know What This World Is Coming To  
3 The Soul Children – Hearsay  
4 John KaSandra, Fred Williamson & Jesse Jackson – Let us stand and raise our fists together  
LP8 - Side P
1 Billy Eckstine – If I Can Help Somebody*  
2 Billy Eckstine – There is a curfew here  
LP9 - Side Q
1 Jesse Jackson – Isaac Hayes Introduction  
2 Isaac Hayes – Theme From Shaft (Version 1)*  
3 Isaac Hayes – Theme From Shaft (Version 2)  
4 Isaac Hayes – Soulsville  
LP9 - Side R
1 Isaac Hayes – Never Can Say Goodbye  
2 Isaac Hayes – Part-Time Love  
3 Isaac Hayes – Your Love Is So Doggone Good  
LP10 - Side S
1 Isaac Hayes – Ain’t No Sunshine/Lonely Avenue  
LP10 - Side T
1 Isaac Hayes – I Stand Accused  
2 Jesse Jackson – Let everybody stand and join hands  
3 Jimmy Jones – If I Had A Hammer