• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Justin Townes Earle : Up And Rolling: Limited Edition Sea Glass Smoke LP

Up And Rolling: Limited Edition Sea Glass Smoke LP

Justin Townes Earle

  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 19 November 2021
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
New West Records
The North Mississippi Allstars bring it all back home on Up and Rolling, the bands debut offering for New West. Cody and Luther Dickinson (scions of the late producer Jim Dickinson) may have taken their brand of roots rock, dirty-blues crunch, soul, and funk across the globe many times, but they’ve never forgotten their roots in Mississippis Hill Country mud. In 1996, Texas photographer Wyatt McSpadden visited the Dickinsons and took pictures of local hill country musicians Otha Turner, Junior Kimbrough, R.L. Burnside, and others, along with their musical families. All the musicians and their kin played together at Kimbroughs juke joint. Most if not all of the offspring are or have been NMA collaborators through the decades. (Singer and fife player Sharde Thomas, Othas granddaughter, continues to lead grandads Rising Star Fife & Drum Ensemble.) The photos went undiscovered for some 20 years, and they are what inspired this soundtrack. The band enlisted friends for a wonderfully unruly celebration of blood, land, and musical ties. Jason Isbell sings lead and plays guitar on a wooly read of Little Walter Jacobs Mean Old World with Duane Betts adding his own axe. Mavis Staples fronts NMA on a bubbling, funky take of her own familys What You Gonna Do (written by Pops Staples) with Rev. Charles Hodges on Hammond B-3, and a vocal chorus courtesy of Tierinii and Tikyra Jackson. Cedric Burnside sings and plays on his uncle R.L.s crunchy blues choogler Out on the Road and a countrified version of Thomas A. Dorseys gospel standard Take My Hand Precious Lord. NMA -- Luther and Cody on guitar and drums, respectively, Thomas on vocals and fife, Carl Dufrene on bass, and Sharisse Norman on vocals -- are a well-seasoned outfit; the quintet and most of their guests have been playing together in various capacities for most of their lives. Call That Gone is a filthy, squalling, bottleneck-guitar blues driven by rolling tom-toms with souled-out vocals from Luther and Thomas, her fife trading licks with his guitar. The title track is a summery country-blues framed by Codys Wurlitzer and sung in three-part harmony. Peaches is lusty, groove-and-grind blues funk with Thomas and Luther exchanging sung lines with real heat. Lonesome in My Home is low-down trance-dance blues penned by Kimbrough. NMAs read is led by Garry Burnsides roiling bassline with killer guitar by Luther that will make you shiver. So will the punchy, funky Bump That Mother, with Roosevelt Colliers wily steel guitar and Codys breaking snare march. Living Free is good-time, back porch soul with snaky slide guitar, Wurlitzer organ, and sweeping vocals by Norman and Thomas. Othas Bye Bye Baby, with long-ago-demoed vocals by the man himself, is paired with Luthers guitar, which adds swamp mud and murk to bring the album full circle. Up and Rolling clears away decades of cobwebs, dust, and wisteria vines from the doorway to the past: Its a family reunion offering that looks to the Hill Countrys history and mystery for both its inspiration from the past and guidance to its present. ~ Thom Jurek~
1 Call That Gone  
2 Up and Rolling  
3 What You Gonna Do? (feat. Mavis Staples)  
4 Drunk Outdoors  
5 Peaches  
6 Mean Old World (feat. Jason Isbell and Duane Betts)  
7 Out on the Road (feat. Cedric Burnside)  
8 Lonesome in My Home  
9 Living Free  
10 Take My Hand (feat. Cedric Burnside)  

More products from Justin Townes Earle

Justin Townes Earle : Kids In The Street: Limited Editon Blue, Green and Tan LP
Justin Townes Earle
Kids In The Street: Limited Editon Blue, Green and Tan LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Justin Townes Earle : The Saint of Lost Causes: Limited Edition Teal & Orange 2LP
Justin Townes Earle
The Saint of Lost Causes: Limited Edition Teal & Orange 2LP
Double Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days