VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents
: Soul Jazz Records presents Congo Revolution [1955-62]

Soul Jazz Records presents Congo Revolution [1955-62]

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents

  • US $32.99  

  • Release Date 04 October 2019
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Soul Jazz

"The stunning ‘Congo Revolution: Revolutionary and Evolutionary Sounds from the Two Congos 1955-62’ on Soul Jazz Records looks at the explosion of music that came out of the Congo in the years leading up to independence in 1960. Congolese rumba, a wild combination of African, Jazz and Latin influences, created future stars of its now legendary creators - Franco, Grand Kalle, Tabu Ley, Dr. Nico, Papa Wemba - and all feature here in their ground-breaking early groups such as O.K.Jazz, Brazzos, Rock-A-Mambo, African Jazz and The Beguen Band.

     This expanded release includes a 50-page booklet innersleeves containing extensive text explaining the evolution of the music and history of the two Congos and how music, politics and popular culture intersected at the point of independence from the Congos’ European colonisers - Belgium and France - through songs such as ‘Vive Patrice Lumumba’ and ‘MNC Uhuru’, which celebrated the Congolese independence leader prior to his political assassination.
     Also included are the stunning images of the Congolese photographer Jean Depara, who documented the Congo’s vibrant nightlife in the period 1955-65 as well as being the official photographer for the superstar Congolese artist Franco up until his death in 1989. Depara also documents the rise of the Bills (Congolese teenagers who dressed as cowboys) and sharp-suited évolués (who later gave rise to the fashion-conscious phenomenon of the Congolese ‘Sapeurs’). These images are reproduced in collaboration with Revue Noire in France.
     This album comes as a CD with slipcase and 50-page outsize booklet, deluxe heavyweight double vinyl with gatefold sleeve and individual innersleeves and as a digital download release."
1 Brazzos et OK Jazz - Cha Cha Cha Del Zombo  
2 Brazzos et OK Jazz - Tcha Tcha Tcha Mi Amor  
3 Essous et Rock-A-Mambo - Baila  
4 Edo et O.K. Jazz - Kumavula Tubakueto  
5 O.K. Jazz - Sois Sage Amour  
6 Nino & Rock-a-Mambo - Allegria Bagette et Le Vedette Jazz  
7 Orchestre - Rhythmo Vedette Jazz  
8 Franco et O.K. Jazz - Tokeyi Kobina Calypso  
9 Essous et Orchestre Bantou - Luiza  
10 Beguen Band - Yo Me Moera  
11 African Jazz - Vive Patrice Lumumba  
12 Dewayon & Conga Jazz - Na Lingi Na Ngai Kubala Te  
13 Kongo Jazz - La Belle Lucie Botayi  
14 Grupo O.K. Jazz - Grupo O.K. Jazz  
15 Rock-A-Mambo - Cherie Nini  
16 African Jazz - Flowers of Luckness  
17 African Jazz - Merengue Nico  
18 Rock-a-Mambo - Les Voyous  
19 Wendo Kolosoy with Beguen Band - Marie Louise  
20 African Jazz - Ngonga Ebeti Independance  
21 African Jazz - MNC Uhuru  

More products from VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents

VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents
: STUDIO ONE Freedom Sounds: Studio One In The 1960s
VA / Soul Jazz Records Presents
STUDIO ONE Freedom Sounds: Studio One In The 1960s
Double Vinyl LP
US $30.99
Dispatched within 5 days