• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Dos Santos: City of Mirrors: Black Vinyl LP

City of Mirrors: Black Vinyl LP

Dos Santos

  • US$32.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 15 October 2021
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
International Anthem

"Bringing together the unlike pairing of an R&B groove with huapango huasteco-inspired melodies, Dos Santos proves they have the chops to make something seldom heard before.” - Remezcla

City of Mirrors is a bold new collection of music from Chicago-based alt-Latinx band Dos Santos, which is comprised of bandleader/singer/lyricst/guitarist/keyboardist Alex Chavez, drummer Daniel Villarreal, percussionist Peter “Maestro” Vale, bassist Jaime Garza, and guitarist/multi-instrumentalist/vocalist Nathan Karagianis. Cinematic in its journey, the album was produced by multimedia artist and long-time friend of the band Elliot Bergman (NOMO, Wild Belle), and reflects sounds from across the Americas combined with Chavez’s compelling poetic narratives. Its 13 tracks consolidate the band’s unique identities, creative and cultural roots, and their penchant for honoring traditional Latinx music with contemporary compositional expressions and production techniques. It achieves the band’s mission to push against their own musical boundaries while also exploring themes of social justice, immigration, and contemporary human struggle. Chavez, a scholar who has produced albums for Smithsonian Folkways and conducted extensive ethnographic work on the music of the Texan US/Mexican borderlands (where he is from), articulates beautifully: “City of Mirrors is an assemblage… glimpses of tradition… reflections on our collective present… luminous echoes between love and solitude, hope and absurdity, euphoria and mourning. This album grapples with and transgresses these binaries because we have/and continue to cross borders. Yet, for us, the border is no metaphor — too much real staring back at us. We embody the border. We (our families) have crossed it. We (our stories) are coated with its residues. And so… we cross the border of self through our art – out of necessity.”

1 A Shot in the Dark  
2 Alma Cósmica  
3 A Tu Lado  
4 City if Mirrors  
5 Glorieta  
6 White. Lies.  
7 Palo Santo  
8 Crown Me  
9 Ghost. Me.  
10 Soledad  
11 Cages and Palaces  
12 Juguar de Rosas  
13 Lejos de Ti  

More products from Dos Santos

Dos Santos: City of Mirrors: Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl
Dos Santos
City of Mirrors: Limited Edition Coloured Vinyl
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days