• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Girls In Synthesis: Pre/Post: A Collection 2016 – 2018

Pre/Post: A Collection 2016 – 2018

Girls In Synthesis

  • US$21.99
    Delivery from US$7.97

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 08 November 2019
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Harbinger Sound

This collection of scarce and sought-after recordings was originally released by Louder Than War and sold out pretty much straight away. This larger run repressing courtesy of Harbinger Sound aims to keep the material in the public eye as long as possible prior to a new album due at the start of 2020. The band will soon be undertaking extensive tours of the U.K and mainland Europe. Girls In Synthesis have quickly forged a fearsome reputation as one of the most exciting and volatile live acts in London. In equal parts frantic, considered, ear-splitting and melodic, the group take their cues from the early DIY punk and post-punk pioneers to keep everything in-house; artwork, videos, performances and recordings are created entirely by the group and their handful of trusted collaborators, with their 3 hand-packaged vinyl E.P releases selling out in days on pre-orders. The “Pre/Post” LP sees Girls In Synthesis compile their 3 previous E.P releases and also sees inclusion of their debut single ‘The Mound’/’Disappear’, never released before on vinyl. Experimentation has seen them transgress the punk bracket into something more original and unique while stage shows present a complete and controlled spectacle, with the group moving from playing on stage to dragging equipment into the audience, desperately trying to remove the group/audience barrier. Their explosive shows have seen them hand picked for support slots with bands as disparate as Bad Breeding, Slaves, Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs Pigs, Wolf Alice, Warmduscher and Damo Suzuki. The debut, self-released single saw GIS well and truly kick the doors open for what was to follow for them over the next few years. The lopsided, fuzz groove of ‘Disappear’ rubs shoulders with the bass-driven, future crowd favourite ‘The Mound’ to add up to a frantic and stripped back, stunning calling card. Follow up E.P ‘Suburban Hell’ saw the group develop the sonic aspects of their music, with the harshness ramped up and subtle but powerful production aspects pushing songs like ‘Suburban Hell’ and ‘Phases’ into harsh, noise-punk territory. Second E.P, ‘We Might Not Make Tomorrow’, added a slight melodic edge to the previous aural bludgeon, whilst the lyrics to songs like the title track, ‘Sentient’ and ‘Tainted’ explore deeper issues such as the threat of nuclear war, animal cruelty and the outcome of the USA presidential election. The third E.P (the most recent and perhaps heaviest) ‘Fan The Flames’ further presses into deeper lyrical territory, with songs focusing on government neglect, anxiety and mental health issues. The production receives even further toughening up and also features the group’s first foray into spoken word in ‘Howling’, albeit with a glitchy, unmusical, harsh noise backdrop. In total, this compilation shows a progressive and feverish work ethic and exposes the varied aspects of one of the UK’s most promising and fruitful underground punk bands.

1 The Mound  
2 Disappear  
3 Suburban Hell  
4 Phases  
5 Fucked  
6 Solid Effect  
7 We Might Not Make Tomorrow Sentient  
8 Splinters & Rust  
9 Tainted  
10 Fan The Flames  
11 You're Doing Fine  
12 Howling  
13 Internal Politics  

More products from Girls In Synthesis

Girls In Synthesis: Now Here’s An Echo From Your Future: Signed Black Vinyl
Girls In Synthesis
Now Here’s An Echo From Your Future: Signed Black Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock