• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Kennebec: Departure
More images



  • US$25.99
    Delivery from US$8.05

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 14 February 2020
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Night Time Stories

Based out of a Portland and working as a teacher, film composer, and mentorship under Mark Orton (Nebraska, Tin Hat.) Eric Phillips' musical vision for Kennebec - a catalogue of his time spent in the Olympic Peninsula - led to him producing ‘Departure’ in Spring 2017.

It took two long years of patient, daily labour to complete the album, during which time influences such as Studio Ghibli soundtrack composer Joe Hisaishi, cult hip hop artist Nujabes as well as Australia’s Taylor Crawford and Tycho’s ambient electronica began to permeate the soundworld. On February 14th 2020, Night Time Stories, sister label of acclaimed Late Night Tales, will release his much anticipated debut album and Kennebec will become part of an internationally respected roster including Khraungbin, Leifur James and Ash Walker.

On ‘Departure’, organic beats and soaring string lines envelope the listener with a dreamful kind of optimism. New single ‘Seasons Change’ is a silky myriad of sounds, textures and techniques that melt against a backdrop of subtle electronics, while ‘Kalahari’ glistens with curiosity and adventure as magnetic strings meet with a mosaic of horns. Elsewhere, the melancholic and wistful moods of ‘Wellspring’ provide a moment of reflection before the warm, fuzzy, feel good grooves of ‘Quest’, embellished by flutes and sax, venture into more overt atmospherics and fluid modulations.

1 As We Grow Older  
2 Seasons Change  
3 Kalahari  
4 Abundance - In The Reeds  
5 A Monsoon  
6 Pipe Dreams  
7 Wellspring  
8 Quest  
9 Yesterday, Tomorrow  
10 Departure  

More products from Kennebec

Kennebec: Without Star or Compass: Vinyl LP
Without Star or Compass: Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Kennebec: Without Star or Compass: Limited Edition Burgundy Vinyl LP
Without Star or Compass: Limited Edition Burgundy Vinyl LP
Vinyl LP
In Stock