Richard Dawson: The Glass Trunk

The Glass Trunk

Richard Dawson

  • US $23.99  

  • Release Date 04 December 2015
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Weird World

Originally released in 2013, ‘The Glass Trunk’ was triggered by a commission to respond to the local museum service’s archives. Dawson created an album largely from stories found in an old 17th Century scrapbook, including a lengthy paean to the sorry demise of community pillar Joe The Quilt-Maker and the much-loved yet equally, viscerally dark ‘Poor Old Horse’.

Six acapella odes of between 4 and 13 minutes in length, plus a rendering of Mike Waterson’s ‘The Brisk Lad’, interspersed with a series of brief instrumental vignettes, Dawson’s guitar sparring with the electric harp of Rhodri Davies for strictly spontaneous 60-second blasts.

1. A Parent’s Address To His Firstborn Son On The Day Of His Birth
2. I
3. II
4. Poor Old Horse
5. III
6. IV
7. William And His Mother Visit The Museum
8. V
9. VI
10. The Brisk Lad
11. VII
12. VIII
13. Joe The Quilt-Maker
14. IX
15. X
16. The Ghost Of A Tree
17. XI
18. XII
19. The Ice-Breaker Baikal