• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Tyrannosaurus Rex: A Beard Of Stars

A Beard Of Stars

Tyrannosaurus Rex

  • US$24.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 10 November 2014
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Vinyl LP

Includes MP3 version

Includes Download Code

On April 11, 1969, installed at their favoured Trident Studios in Soho, Tyrannosaurus Rex broke dramatically with their enchanted past but retained their favourite producer, Tony Visconti. Laying down two new songs, the usually seated Marc Bolan and bongo-playing sidekick Steve Took were up on their feet grinding out doomy lines on bass and electric guitar respectively. Released in July 1969, King Of The Rumbling Spires, backed by Do You Remember – the latter with Bolan reinstated as lead vocalist – represented a giant leap and pre-dated Glam Rock by 2 years.

Bolan’s weird-kid passion for nature, myth and the universe survived his recent travails. The enchanted forest (Woodland Bop, By The Light Of A Magical Moon), mediaevalism (Pavilions Of Sun, Wind Cheetah), pre-Classical times (Organ Blues, Dragon’s Ear) and eternal love and friendship (A Day Laye, the sublime Lofty Skies, Dove) still dominated his writing. A Beard Of Stars rang in the changes. The storytelling was more succinct with shorter verses, tighter hooks and greater repetition. Song structures were simplified.

This version of the album has been remastered by Sean Magee at Abbey Road Studios and the artwork has been lovingly restored by Phil Smee at Waldo’s Design and Dream Emporium.


Side A
1. Prelude
2. A Day Laye
3. Woodland Bop
4. Fist Heart Mighty Dawn Dart
5. Pavilions of Sun
6. Organ Blues
7. By The Light Of A Magical Moon
8. Wind Cheetah

Side B
1. A Beard of Stars
2. Great Horse
3. Dragon’s Ear
4. Lofty Skies
5. Dove
6. Elemental Child 

More products from Tyrannosaurus Rex

Tyrannosaurus Rex: Prophets, Seers & Sages The Angels Of The Ages: Deluxe LP Edition
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Prophets, Seers & Sages The Angels Of The Ages: Deluxe LP Edition
Double Vinyl LP
Sorry Sold Out
Tyrannosaurus Rex: Consuela 7
Tyrannosaurus Rex
Consuela 7"
7" Single
In Stock