Jim James: Tribute To

Tribute To

Jim James

  • US $22.99  

  • Release Date 08 December 2017
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
ATO Records

Includes Download Code

ATO Records reissue Jim James’ 2009 ‘Tribute To’ album with new cover art and a bonus track - his cover of ‘If Not For You’.

‘Tribute To’ is a collection of George Harrison songs recorded by Jim after George’s death. “All I had was that eight track at our studio and right after George died I just went up there and sat in a room and played those songs to try and deal with the emotions I felt from his passing and pay tribute to him,” said Jim James.

SPIN described the EP as “spare and somber - just that windy Americana tenor against a squeaky acoustic guitar. Many of us remember where we were when Harrison died; now we hear when James began to heal.”

James has spent the better part of almost two decades as the lead singer, songwriter and multi-instrumentalist of My Morning Jacket. Hailed by The New York Times as “the new kings of expand-your-mind, religious-experience rock,” the band have released seven studio albums with the last three - 2008’s ‘Evil Urges’, 2011’s ‘Circuital’ and 2015’s ‘The Waterfall’ - each receiving Grammy nominations for Best Alternative Album.

Jim James’ 2013 debut solo album, ‘Regions Of Light And Sound Of God’, was named as one of the best albums of the year by numerous critics. ‘Eternally Even’ followed in 2016 and debuted at No. 1 on Billboard’s Alternative Albums chart.

James has contributed to albums by such artists as The Roots, David Lynch, Brandi Carlile and John Fogerty and partnered with others on side projects such as New Multitudes, Monsters Of Folk and T-Bone Burnett’s The New Basement Tapes. He has produced Preservation Hall Jazz Band, Dean Wareham, Basia Bulat and Ray Lamontagne’s most recent record ‘Ouroboros’. In 2016, he collaborated with NASA for the launch of their Juno Mission and with Sundance Film Festival on their Freedom Of Expression event.

1 Long, Long, Long  
2 Behind that Locked Door  
3 Love You To  
4 If Not For You  
5 My Sweet Lord  
6 Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)  
7 All Things Must Pass