• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Minor Pieces: The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming: Coloured Vinyl

The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming: Coloured Vinyl

Minor Pieces

  • US$23.99
    Delivery from US$10.63

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 04 October 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Fat Cat Records

"‘The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming’ is the debut album from Vancouverbased Minor Pieces, a new songwriting partnership comprising acclaimed singer / composer Ian William Craig and newcomer Missy Donaldson, a singer and multi-instrumentalist.

     Retaining some of the textural play and experimentation of Ian’s solo material whilst channelling it squarely within the domain of tangible songwriting, the pair utilise guitar, modified tape decks, bass and synths to fashion deeply-felt songs with their beautifully matched male / female vocals standing resolutely centre-stage.
     Taking influence and inspiration from the likes of Low, Grouper, Mazzy Star, Portishead, My Bloody Valentine, Talk Talk and Cat Power, ‘The Heavy Steps Of Dreaming’ sounds at once familiar whilst forging something new, unique and beyond the sum of its influences.
     Over the course of its 8 tracks - from the opening bars of ‘Rothko’ to the resonant closing lines of ‘Shipbreaking’ - the duo move fluidly between voices, shift from moments of overwhelming power to perfect points of stillness; from acoustic balladry pared down to the sparsest of means to thick, tumbling swells of tape and electronics or billowing synth trails. At both album and song level, it’s a work of contrasts and combinations; of broad, bold dynamics.
     Masterfully crafted, the lyrics are rendered with an almost painterly approach and reveal a palpable joy in the richness of language and its capacity to conjure resonances, to hold moments close and to patch together meaning from life’s scattered detritus.
 What’s forged is a kind of Alt. Americana filtered through a progressive modern lens and the tactile, heavily processed tactics of Ian’s solo practice - an approach that links to the corrosive aesthetics of electronic artists like Fennesz, William Basinski or The Caretaker.
     “Puts ambient music, dream pop, and operatic vocals in a blender, and comes out with something that’s very unique” - Brooklyn Vegan
     “An atmosphere that flits between the overtly beautiful and the frankly eerie” - Clash Magazine"
1 Rothko  
2 This House  
3 Brávallagata  
4 Grace  
5 Burden  
6 The Way We Are In Song  
7 Tender Fire  
8 Shipbreaking