• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Calexico: The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition): 180g Vinyl

The Black Light (20th Anniversary Edition): 180g Vinyl


  • US$28.99
    Delivery from US$13.44

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 November 2018
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
City Slang

An album about crossing physical and metaphorical borders that has never been timelier: Calexico’s classic album “The Black Light“ turns 20 this year. This limited celebratory anniversary edition includes all new artwork by Victor Gastelum, extensive linernotes, and 11 bonus tracks.

What was surprising about The Black Light (and what set its architects apart from their indie rock peers) was the album’s unusual willingness to wade into the rapids of American and Mexican culture, fully immersing itself midstream. From the outset, with ‘Gypsy’s Curse’, the record combines guitar twang and flamenco flourishes; and by its end, almost an hour later, it’s contrived a skillful and instinctive union of smoky bar room jazz, arthouse indie rock, and compelling mariachi brass in ‘Frontera’. If Calexico falls short as a name, it’s only in the fact that - alongside their mining of Mexico’s fertile musical past - Joey Burns and John Convertino weren’t just digging into California’s songbook...they were unearthing America’s too.

Side A
1 Gypsy's Curse  
2 Fake Fur  
3 The Ride Pt.2  
4 Where Water Flows  
5 The Black Light  
6 Sideshow  
7 Chach  
8 Missing  
Side B
1 Minas De Cobre (For Better Metal)  
2 Over Your Shoulder  
3 Vinegaroon  
4 Trigger  
5 Sprawl  
6 Stray  
7 Old Man Waltz  
8 Bloodflow  
9 Frontera  
Side C (Bonus Tracks)
1 El Morro  
2 Man Goes Where Water Flows  
3 Glowing Heart Of The World  
4 Too Much Sprawl  
5 Rollbar  
Side D (Bonus Tracks)
1 Minas De Cobre (Extend-omix)  
2 Minas De Cobre (Spatial Mix)  
3 Minas De Cobre (Acoustic Mix)  
4 Lacquer  
5 Drape  
6 Bag Of Death