Soul Jazz Record Presents: DANCEHALL: The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

DANCEHALL: The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture

Soul Jazz Record Presents, Various Artists

  • US $30.99  

  • Release Date 10 November 2017
  • In Stock
Product code
Triple Vinyl LP
Soul Jazz

Soul Jazz Records are releasing a new 2017 edition of their classic album ‘Dancehall: The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture’. This long-out-of-print collection is now available as a double CD, triple vinyl and digital download album.

The album is a lightning-flash collection of all-time classic and definitive dancehall classics as well as a stellar selection of more obscure tracks. Featuring Yellowman, Tenor Saw, Sister Nancy, Ini Kamoze, Chaka Demus & Pliers, Michigan & Smiley, Super Cat, Cutty Ranks, Eek-A-Mouse, Gregory Isaacs and more, this album features non-stop floor-filling party tune rockers throughout.

‘Dancehall’ is released to coincide with the new 2017 edition of the stunning 400+ photos deluxe coffee table book ‘Dancehall: The Rise Of Jamaican Dancehall Culture’, featuring Beth Lesser’s amazing ‘Dancehall’ photography (also newly published by Soul Jazz Records). This book has become the definitive cultural reference book for Jamaican dancehall and features hundreds of killer photographs, extensive text and interviews with many of the artists.

1 Yellowman - Bam Bam  
2 Tenor Saw - Pumpkin Belly  
3 Reggie Stepper - Cu Oonuh  
4 Chaka Demus and Pliers - Murder She Wrote  
5 Pinchers - Agony  
6 Michigan & Smiley - Diseases (3.31)  
7 Ini Kamoze - World A Music  
8 Junior Murvin - Cool Out Son  
9 General Echo - Arleen  
10 Cornel Campbell - Boxing  
11 Cutty Ranks - Chop Chop  
12 Lone Ranger - M16  
13 Super Cat - Trash and Ready  
14 Gregory Isaacs - Soon Forward  
15 Jacob Miller & Trinity - I'm Just A Dread / One Shut  
16 Eek A Mouse - Wa Do Dem  
17 Sister Nancy - Only Woman DJ With Degree  
18 Trinity - Uptown Girl  
19 General Echo - Track Shoes  
20 Cornel Campbell - Mash You Down  
21 Horace Ferguson - Sensi Addict  
22 Clint Eastwood - Jump and Pawn  

More products from Soul Jazz Record Presents

Soul Jazz Record Presents: Space, Energy & Light: Experimental Electronic And Acoustic Soundscapes 1961-88
Soul Jazz Record Presents
Space, Energy & Light: Experimental Electronic And Acoustic Soundscapes 1961-88
Triple Vinyl LP
US $27.99
Buy Now: More stock coming soon