• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

WOW: Come La Notte

Come La Notte


  • US $19.90  

  • Release Date 30 August 2019
  • Dispatched within 5 days
Product code
Vinyl LP
Maple Death Records

"Intimacy as a sacred path, intimacy as a weapon, intimacy as a reaction, a nighttime ritual that becomes an eloquent but essential survival routine. WOW’s fifth album ‘Come La Notte’ (literally ‘Like Night’) is rooted in trying to figure out these questions, can night living keep protecting us? Is this where we can breathe fresh air and find our place in society?

To me, WOW, has always been the secret gem, one of the shiniest and most vital expressions of art coming out of Italy’s now disastrous political landscape. A reminder, if any needed, of the incredible tableau of music, cinema, experimentation, poetry and craft the ‘bel paese’ generated day in an out for years. Based in Rome and centered around the creative partnership of China Wow and Leo Non, WOW have been writing beautiful songs for years, assimilating and embodying the uncompromising spirit of their Pigneto neighborhood, the visual mesmerization and flickering lights of early Cinecittà, the ramshackle purity of rock’n’roll and primitive punk and the undeniable glory of the Italian 60’s canzone, where dream voices such as Mina and Patty Pravo were supported by otherworldly musicianship that could bring the listener to its feet with a single drum-roll.

Come La Notte was not an easy process: two years of recordings, a revolving cast of musicians and an undying wish to present the band at its purest form, minimal, naked, where every single word and note is enough to paint a universe and speak some sort of existence. The album was directly inspired by their experimental club night Bad Peace that takes place at Roma Est’s now cult venue Fanfulla and by their participation in ‘Almost Nothing’ (Compagnia Deflorian/Tagliarini) a theatrical piece taking cues from Michelangelo Antonioni’s ‘Il Deserto Rosso’ that saw the band outside of its usual habitat, on stages across the world in a context where art is valued for art.

1 Come La Notte  
2 Niente Di Speciale  
3 Nina  
4 Vieni Un Po’ Qui  
5 Morire Per Amore  
6 Occhi Di Serpente  
7 Domani