• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Lal & Mike Waterson: Bright Phoebus

Bright Phoebus

Lal & Mike Waterson

  • US $26.99  

  • Release Date 04 August 2017
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Double Vinyl LP

Lal and Mike Waterson’s 1972 folk-noir masterpiece ‘Bright Phoebus’ has long been recognised as one of British music’s legendary lost records. Following the parting of ways of The Watersons and freed from the strictures of folk orthodoxy, Lal and Mike Waterson’s love of words allowed them to serve the needs of their songs in ways that weren’t possible when singing already written songs.

Featuring performances from Lal, Mike and Norma Waterson, Martin Carthy, Richard Thompson, Ashley Hutchings, Dave Mattacks, Tim Hart and Maddy Prior, amongst others, the album is now recognised as a forward-thinking benchmark for the genre.

Fans include Arcade Fire, Stephen Malkmus, Billy Bragg, Jarvis Cocker, Richard Hawley - the latter two performed the record themselves in 2013 on the ‘Bright Phoebus Revisited’ tour.

This will be the first time since its release that the album will be widely available. Under the supervision of David Suff (Topic/Fledg’ling) and Marry Waterson (daughter of Lal), the album has been remastered from the original tapes.

Alongside the reissue of the original album, there will be deluxe 2CD / 2LP versions containing 12 previously unreleased demos for the album, themselves tinged with their own mythology. The standard single-disc CD replicates the original artwork with lyrics; the standard LP and both deluxe double disc editions feature extensive sleevenotes by Pete Paphides.

Vinyl formats include digital download codes.

1 ‘Bright Phoebus’  
2 Rubber Band  
3 The Scarecrow  
4 Fine Horseman  
5 Winifer Odd  
6 Danny Rose  
7 Child Among The Weeds  
8 Magical Man  
9 Never The Same  
10 To Make You Stay  
11 Shady Lady  
12 Red Wine Promises  
13 Bright Phoebus  
‘The 1971 Demos’ (2CD / 2LP Only)
1 Danny Rose  
2 Fine Horseman  
3 Winifer Odd  
4 Child Among The Weeds  
5 Magical Man  
6 Bright Phoebus  
7 Red Wine Promises  
8 Song For Thirza  
9 The Scarecrow  
10 Never The Same  
11 One Of Those Days  
12 Jack Frost