• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Super Furry Animals: Guerrilla: Limited Edition Pop-up Gatefold Double LP

Guerrilla: Limited Edition Pop-up Gatefold Double LP

Super Furry Animals

  • US$33.99
    Delivery from US$13.98

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 01 November 2019
  • In Stock
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
20th Anniversary Edition

Pop-up Gatefold Double LP

Heavyweight vinyl

Re-mastered from original master tapes

Includes foreword by Alan McGee, sleevenotes by Ric Rawlins, and original artwork concept drawings by Pete Fowler

Guerrilla is the third album by Super Furry Animals. The record was released on 14 June 1999 by Creation Records and peaked at number 10 in the UK Albums Chart. With a bigger budget from Creation and choosing to self-produce the album with studio wingman / engineer, Michael Brennan, in rural splendour, the band determinedly set about making an upbeat, pop record that would deliver a punch inside 45 minutes. What actually emerged was a kaleidoscopic and indefinable gathering of vibrant songs that, while brimming with intended positivity, embraced accidental studio discoveries, missteps in the recording process and a new sense of democracy as the band shared production duties.

Featuring two hidden tracks, Citizen’s Band (inspired by Gruff’s experiences during the 1980’s CB radio craze in remote North Wales) coming in before the official opener, Check It Out, and Chewing Chewing Gum (Reprise) sitting in the gap after the ‘closing’ glam-rock stomp of Keep The Cosmic Trigger Happy, Super Furry Animals were found to be in playful mood. Their selection of singles offered a potent, at-a-glance guide of the band’s career-spanning sounds, with Northern Lites’ (No.11, UK Singles Chart) poppy, steel drum-infused calypso foretelling the unashamed, hit-making approach that would follow them into 2001’s Rings Around The World and 2003’s Phantom Power. At the same time, gentle acoustic ballad, Fire In My Heart (No.25, UK Singles Chart) and punky, gobbledygook third single, Do Or Die (No.20, UK Singles Chart) shared the charming, naïve immediacy of their debut, Fuzzy Logic and it’s follow-up Radiator.

Constantly casting their gaze into the future, Wherever I Lay My Phone (That’s My Home) foretold of IPhone dominance in the age when heavyweight, low-tech Nokias ruled the world, taking rhythmic cues from one of the band’s mobile ring tones and the sampled sound of guitarist, Huw tripping over a lead. For every attempt made at a pop song, there was a The Sound Of Life Today, an interlude formed of 22 seconds of the tender, yet warped eighth track, Some Things Come From Nothing, being played backwards. Electricity also pulses obviously through the record, with Ciarán’s growing assemblage of gadgetry forming a studio within a studio at Real World, casting bleeps and wailing circuits across the album more liberally than had been heard on earlier recordings.

This 20th anniversary re-issue is completely re-mastered from original master tapes. Double LP on heavyweight vinyl with pop-up gatefold. CD edition features over 25 bonus tracks including second disc of previously unreleased material. Both feature foreword by Alan McGee, sleevenotes by Ric Rawlins, and previously unseen concept art drawings by Pete Fowler.
1 Fire In My Heart  
2 The Sound Of Life Today  
3 Chewing Chewing Gum  
4 Keep The Cosmic Trigger Happy  
1 Check It Out  
2 Do Or Die  
3 The Turning Tide  
4 Northern Lites  
1 A Specific Ocean  
2 Some Things Come From Nothing  
3 The Door To This House Remains Open  
4 The Teacher  
1 Nightvision  
2 Wherever I Lay My Phone (That’s My Home)