• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Various Artists: The Best Of Chi-Sound Records 1976-1984: Limited Edition 180g Blue Vinyl 2LP

The Best Of Chi-Sound Records 1976-1984: Limited Edition 180g Blue Vinyl 2LP

Various Artists

  • US$43.99
    Delivery from US$12.14

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 23 April 2022
  • Buy Now: Estimated Dispatch within 10 - 12 days
Product code
Double Vinyl LP
Demon Records

Chi-Sound Records was launched in 1976, by US music industry executive and soul producer Carl Davis. Chi-Sound was originally distributed as a boutique label via United Artists Records, with the first releases coming from Walter Jackson and Ebony Rhythm Funk Campaign. However, it was one of the label’s first singles, which has endured the test of time and had a 21st Century resurgence by being the theme tune to the UK Broadcaster/Presenter/DJ, Norman Jay MBE, to open his national BBC Radio show. The Chicago label produced some of the great soul Artists of the late ‘70s and became a new home for the legendary ‘Duke of Earl’, Gene Chandler, whose Disco era classic ‘Get Down’ tore-up the dancefloors around the world. Other notable signings for the Chicago label included The Chi-Lites, Manchild (featuring a young Kenneth ‘Babyface’ Edmonds), The Impressions, Sydney Joe Qualls, The Dells and Magnum Force. This is the first Chi-Sounds Records collection in more than 20 years.

Side A
1 Windy City Orchestra (AKA Carl Davis & The Chi Sound Orchestra) – Windy City Theme  
2 Ebony Rhythm Funk Campaign – Watchin' You, Watchin' Me  
3 Manchild – Red Hot Daddy  
4 Gene Chandler – Get Down (12" Version)  
5 The Impressions – Come To My Party  
Side B
1 Sidney Joe Qualls – So Sexy  
2 Gene Chandler – When You're #1  
3 The Dells – All About The Paper  
4 Manchild – Taking It To The Streets  
Side C
1 The Chi-Lites Featuring Eugene Record – Hot On A Thing (Called Love)  
2 Magnum Force – A Touch Of Funk (Mono Version)  
3 The Impressions – Fan The Fire  
4 Walter Jackson – Touching In The Dark  
5 Gene Chandler – Does She Have A Friend?  
Side D
1 Manchild – Especially For You  
2 The Dells – Passionate Breezes  
3 Walter Jackson – It's Cool  
4 Paris – I Choose You