Use code FREEUKSHIPPING at checkout

    Valid from 00.00am 23.03.2018 until 23.59pm 26.02.2018 Discount will be applied to UK Standard Delivery Only. Minimum spend £50 Orders and items over 2kg are courier only to ensure safe delivery.

Psychic Temple: III


Psychic Temple

  • US $21.99  

  • Release Date 06 May 2016
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Asthmatic Kitty

Psychic Temple ‘III’ completes the transition from avant-jazz solo project to a working band constructed around timeless songs that draw upon the rich history of classic American soul, blues and folk.

Equally immersed in the sound of California’s canyons and the swamps of the deep South, Psychic Temple’s cult leader / guitarist Chris Schlarb steps out of the shadows and up to the microphone for the first time with astonishing results.

Maintaining Psychic Temple’s affinity for nuance and delicate minimalism, ‘III’ exhibits a new directness cantered around Schlarb’s agile guiding voice.

Culled from sessions recorded at home in Los Angeles and the legendary FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, ‘III’ includes contribution and performances from Spooner Oldham (Neil Young, Bob Dylan), David Hood (JJ Cale, Aretha Franklin), Mike Watt (minutemen, The Stooges), Avi Buddalo, Nedelle Torrisi (Sufjan Stevens), Elliot Bergman (Wild Belle, NOMO), Dave Easley (Brian Blade Fellowship) and more.

Coming together quickly and intuitively, the album was mixed over three days with Ronan Chris Murphy (King Crimson).

1. Overture
2. When I Know
3. You Ain’t A Star (Prelude)
4. You Ain’t A Star
5. Getting Home
6. I’m Not Far Behind
7. Feral Children Of The Canyon
8. Don’t Try
9. Brother O
10. NO RECALL (Prelude)
11. Neon Belly
12. I Don’t Need Nothin’
13. Road Song