• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Susumu Yokota: Symbol: Limited Edition White Vinyl LP

Symbol: Limited Edition White Vinyl LP

Susumu Yokota

  • US$36.99
    Delivery from US$9.12

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 22 April 2022
  • In Stock
Product code
Vinyl LP
Lo Recordings

“a lush, ornate, and elegant celebration of the oft-maligned pleasure of pure surface-level beauty”. Pitchfork

London independent imprint Lo Recordings are excited to announce that they will release a vinyl version of the ‘Symbol’ album by the late Japanese electronic pioneer Susumu Yokota on the 8th of April 2022.

Originally released in 2004, the special limited edition reissue comes in a newly designed and beautifully packaged gatefold sleeve with liner notes by Ben Eshmade and Tsutomu Noda.

The prolific Yokota rightly saw this album as his masterwork. An incredible kaleidoscopic patchwork of samples from classical recordings by the likes of John Cage, Meredith Monk, Prokofiev, Debussy, Ravel and Tchaikovsky are brought together and lovingly transformed in Yokota’s inimitable style to create what Pitchfork described as an "ecstasy album”.

Each track is a firework of temporality, as ideas collide and briefly hold together in the fragile moment before decaying and decomposing. Sampling, the re-imagining of music, is very much the instrument of Yokota. Within the restricted seconds of a digital sample you hear a recording from a certain time, you hear the room, you hear the dust on the cello bow, and you can just about sense what the musician was feeling that day.

1 long long silk bridge  
2 purple rose minuet  
3 traveler in the wonderland  
4 song of the sleeping forest  
5 the plateau which the zephyr of flora occupies  
6 fairy dance of twinkle and shadow  
1 flaming love and destiny  
2 the dying black swan  
3 blue sky and yellow sunflower  
4 capriccio and the innovative composer  
5 I close the door upon myself  
6 symbol of life, love and aesthetics  
7 music from the lake surface