José James: Lean On Me

Lean On Me

José James

  • US $29.99  

  • Release Date 28 September 2018
  • Sorry Sold Out
Product code
Vinyl LP
Blue Note

Singer-songwriter José James is releasing Lean On Me, a tribute album including 12 of Bill Withers' most undeniable and soulful songs produced by Blue Note president Don Was and recorded in Capitol's legendary Studio B with a dream team band: Pino Palladino (bass), Kris Bowers (keys), Brad Allen Williams (guitar) and Nate Smith (drums). Withers' nuanced perspective on romantic love rings out: the ache of “Ain't No Sunshine,” echoed by Bowers' expressive Rhodes; the celebration of vulnerability on “Use Me,” featuring Takuya Kuroda's Voodoo-evoking brass arrangements; and the bittersweet balladry of “Hello Like Before,” here in a dreamy hue. And then there's “Lovely Day,” which displays Lalah Hathaway's voice dancing along with James’ to all that ineffable joy.

Side A
1 Ain’t No Sunshine  
2 Grandma’s Hands  
3 Lovely Day feat. Lalah Hathaway  
4 Lean On Me  
5 Kissing My Love  
6 Use Me  
7 Who Is He  
8 Hello Like Before  
9 Just The Two Of Us  
10 Hope She’ll Be Happier  
11 The Same Love That Made Me Laugh  
12 Better Off Dead  

More products from José James

José James: Love In A Time of Madness
José James
Love In A Time of Madness
Vinyl LP
US $13.99
In Stock