• This website page requires you to be 18 years or older to enter. Please enter you date of birth to continue.

    Please enable JavaScript to use this site.

Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis: Cookin’ with Jaws and the Queen: The Legendary Prestige Cookbook Albums - 4LP Box Set

Cookin’ with Jaws and the Queen: The Legendary Prestige Cookbook Albums - 4LP Box Set

Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Shirley Scott

  • US$184.00
    Delivery from US$21.20

    * Delivery cost to United States of America (based on your detected location) for a single item. Adding multiple items to your order can reduce the cost per item. Choosing a different delivery option can change the cost per item. Final delivery cost will be shown in order review page.

  • Release Date 03 February 2023
Product code
Vinyl Box Set
Craft Recordings

The four albums included in this package were recorded across three sessions: June 20, September 12, and December 5, 1958. The place that so marvelously captured these thoroughly blues-immersed moments in time was the historic original habitat of Van Gelder Studio, in Rudy Van Gelder’s parents’ home at 25 Prospect Ave. in Hackensack, NJ. These sides also represent a stylistic sensibility that consistently found a welcome laboratory at Van Gelder Studio, and an eager and sensitive host and technician in young Rudy, all of 34 years old at the time. For his sterling life’s work in 2009 Van Gelder was recognized as a National Endowment for the Arts Jazz Master. The groove orientation of these dates, the funky branch of the so-called hard bop school of the day, was known as soul-jazz.

Released to celebrate tenor jazz saxophonist Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis’ Centennial, “Cookin’ with Jaws and the Queen” showcases the influential soul-jazz partnership of Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis and Organist Shirley Scott. Bringing together the Prestige albums “Cookbook, Vol. 1-3,” “& “Smokin’”.

This 4-LP set is pressed on 180-gram vinyl at RTI and newly remastered from the Original Analog tapes by Bernie Grundman. The package also features new liner notes by journalist Willard Jenkins.

Side A 
1 Have Horn, Will Blow   
2 The Chef   
3 But Beautiful   
Side B 
1 In The Kitchen   
2 Three Deuces  
Side C 
1 The Rev    
2 Stardust  
Side D 
1 Skillet    
2 I Surrender, Dear    
3 The Broilers   
Side E 
1 I'm Just A Lucky So And So    
2 Heat 'N Serve    
3 My Old Flame  
Side F 
1 The Goose Hangs High    
2 Simmerin'   
3 Strike Up The Band  
Side G 
1 High Fry   
2 Smoke This   
3 Pennies From Heaven  
Side H 
1 Pots And Pans   
2 Jaws   
3 It's A Blue World   
4 Blue Lou  

More products from Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis

Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis: The Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Cookbook, Vol. 1
Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis
The Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis Cookbook, Vol. 1
Vinyl LP
In Stock
Includes MP3 version
Shirley Scott: One For Me: Limited Edition Vinyl
Shirley Scott
One For Me: Limited Edition Vinyl
Vinyl LP
In Stock