Michael Angelo: Michael Angelo

Michael Angelo

Michael Angelo

  • US $15.99  

  • Release Date 27 April 2015
  • Buy Now: More stock coming soon
Product code
Vinyl LP
Anthology Recordings

Includes download code.

The 1977 psychedelic rarity, Michael Angelo (aka The Guinn Album), by Kansas City, MO-based singer/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist Michael Angelo Nigro, is a hook-filled, staggering, inner space hi-fi snapshot of dreamy folk-rock, Anglophile-pop and light psychedelia.

Filled with poetic, contemplative, imaginative and arresting lyrical imagery and a Beatle-esque vocal presence that etches lovely figures, there’s little to ally the album to its time. Michael Angelo taps into the forever, ruminating on timeless life concerns in an oblique and direct manner. Ethereal and mellifluous, the album isn’t just a collection of songs, but a cohesive album-length statement with strummy, jangly folk-rock guitar, incendiary lead lines, big, resonant piano chords and plaintive tinkling, aided by keyboard coloring, and stands as a heavyhitter in the pantheon of “out-of-time” treasures.

Original copies of this obscurity have long traded for close to four figures. The more affordable versions previously available have been shoddy bootlegs with poor sound. While the original master tapes vanished decades ago, this edition has been treated to a new remaster from a sealed original mint copy — and with Michael’s full involvement and blessing — rendering it as near the sound of the original LP as possible.

1. Flight of Pegasus
2. Oceans of Fantasy
3. The World to Be
4. Lost in the Pain
5. Checkout
6. Bon Jour Mr. VIP
7. Journey (to Find Who We Are)
8. Inner Reflections
9. Field of Lonely Eyes
10. Future